Silver of the Day #19: Quarters (Round 2)


Source

So I missed the Silver of the Day post yesterday, everyone. Sorry about that. I ended up going to a party for a friend and it ran later than I was anticipating. By the time I got home I was exhausted and opted to get some shuteye. Gotta get that beauty sleep.

Many of you know that I've been on a quest to get some free silver. It's time-consuming, but since I can do it while watching tv it's time that I'm already wasting, so might as well try to make some real money off it. My method for this has been getting rolls of coins from the bank and searching through them for coins with silver content.

First I tried looking through $200 of dimes - I found one silver dime and a 5 pence piece.
Then I tried looking through $200 in half dollars - I found nothing except peace signs on Kennedy's face
I switched to $200 in Quarters - I found no silver, but did get some bi-centennial quarters that I collect

In the last post I said I was going to look for more quarters, so I went back for another $200 worth. I considered upping the amount to $300 or $400, but if $200 was embarrassing, $400 would just be crazy.

I normally plan to do my searches on the weekend so I have something to look forward to, but like many of us who are silver enthusiasts, I lack a certain patience when it comes to looking at our coins... even if we haven't found them yet.

I started ripping open rolls basically as soon as I got home. So much for having a little weekend project. In my enthusiasm for the search, I also forgot to take pictures of the rolls or wrappers, so if you're missing those, please refer back to the aforementioned previous quarters post.

Alright, what you really want to know if how much I found. The answer is...

Drum roll, please!


Source

Zero

I found a total of zero silver quarters.

I was rather bummed out, but again looking on the positive side, I found a few more bi-centennial quarters, so I that boosted my spirits a bit. Getting something as valuable as silver for free is a long-shot anyways, so I can't be too disappointed. Expecting to find a roll of silver quarters would be like expecting Wile E. Coyote to catch the Roadrunner. At the end of the day, you just have to appreciate the experience and entertainment, and keep on going.

I got some great feedback last time about looking through nickels, so that's what is going to be next!

Ono Small.png
@themanwithnoname

Sort:  

Bummer. It made a good story tho!

Yeah, I was really, really hoping that I could get at least one. Then it would still be a success. I'd like to move from "looking on the bright side" to "success"... even if it's only a small success. That's ok. I'm going to keep looking on the bright side, because I'm not giving up.

Thanks for stopping by!

howdy there Blondie! I think it's a conspiracy. You need to try a different bank. I think you gave them the idea and they're playing games with you and only giving you the coins they've already gone through.
that's my conspiracy theory for the day.

I hope that isn't the case. I've been to two different branches with similar results, so maybe all of the banks are in on it. Heh.

well sir if that is happening it's probably not at the local bank level, probably from where ever they get their coins, just my guess. I don't think local bank employees are allowed to sit around going through coins looking for silver ones, they keep them too busy for that.

There's always a line of people almost out the door, so I doubt they have time to look through their coins. They might be able to find the silver ones by looking at the edges, but even then, it wouldn't be great odds.

There's got to be some sort of process they have in place to remove the silver ones as they handle them. That wouldn't surprise me.

ya'll must have some busy banks over there because there's usually no one in ours.
but I agree that they may have some system to remove the silver ones. a coin sorter
that identifies them somehow or something?

Y'all must have smaller populations over there because I've never been in any bank out here and not seen a line.

I'm not sure how they would do it, but if they found a way, that would make it a lot easier to get free money.

that's interesting about the banks, I know that our nearest town is exploding in growth and getting large, the main street has so many banks it's not funny, maybe that's why? there's a bank on every corner.

If there are that many banks, it could be a factor. I'd rather just have one bank there, but not have many people around so it's quiet most of the time.

Even the credit unions are really popular. Everywhere is getting crowded.

I have to say, man, you set me up and you let me fall. I thought for sure you'd get some silver quarters, based on the build up. Oh, well. As you say, you might as well try to make some money while you're sitting around wasting time, so hey, worth a shot.

I feel like the nickels will be the longest shot of all, but then, what do I know? Having said that, I will have just brought you good luck, although by saying that, I may have just jinxed it. But by recognizing it, I have may just put you good again. Maybe I should stop. :)

Sorry about that, Glen! Trust me, I really wanted to get a whole roll of them so I could tell you all about the amazing find I had. Alas, it wasn't to be.

The theory is that the nickels won't have been picked through as much, so maybe there's something left. There are fewer years and it was longer ago, so I think that even if they aren't as picked through, the odds are about the same.

Having said that, I will have just brought you good luck, although by saying that, I may have just jinxed it. But by recognizing it, I have may just put you good again. Maybe I should stop. :)

Ha ha ha. Don't hurt your brain there, buddy! I'd hate to see you go crazy. :)

No worries. I like the build up. I was just hoping for your sake there would be something to it. I suppose though, that there is some fun in the anticipation of discovery, even if there isn't a payoff. I could see that being apart of the allure for me.

Okay. So potentially same odds for nickels because people might not be picking through them as much. Like your bank's employees, which I think wizardave suggested. If I had anything to do with the coins, I might be picking through them. If it wasn't specifically against bank policy as long as I put back another comparable coin of course.

"Don't short the roll. That would be bad."
—themanwithnoname

I think I'm already officially in the "crazy" category already. I guess I could get more crazy, but I like to keep within safe parameters. Which means, most people don't even notice.

Not sure if you've been there yet, but Asher published another post of his famous lists, and you hit the top of mine. I'm eager to see where I stand on yours. :)

Thanks, I appreciate the support. Yes, there's anticipation of discovery, but not expectation, so I don't really get too let down if there isn't anything. The odds of there being silver in the rolls is not high, so I'm alright if nothing comes from it. When I do expect something and don't get it, the failure starts to eat at me, but that's not the case here.

I doubt the bank employees pick through them. The ones that I get are in rolls, not free floating. Those ones the bank employees might look through, but I'm not sure how easy it would be for them to switch it out with a comparable coin. The cameras are watching so that might deter it. Also, there are normally customers (based on my experiences at the bank) so they might not even have time. I guess they could do it when they cash out at the end of the day.

When I worked in a retail job for a while, I would have downtime where there weren't customers. If we got some unique coins in, I'd trade them out. I wasn't looking for silver coins at the time, so some might have slipped past me. That's how things go.

I think my infatuation with silver has pushed me further along the crazy road, at least in most people's eyes. I'm rather focused on getting more, and most people don't understand the allure.

I think you're right that if people already consider you crazy, as long as you're able to keep it within the regular-expected parameters, you're ok.

I just commented on Asher's post. Looking forward to seeing the response as well. I turned off "mentions" notifications in GinaBot for now, so I haven't been seeing when my name pops up. If someone needs me, they can find my posts. ;)

At least the search is fun. I feel you are going to be more lucky with the nickels.

I really enjoy the searching process, even if I don't find anything.

Thanks, I hope you're right!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63423.51
ETH 3252.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91