Silver of the Day #18

Prices are rising in Steemit Land and spirits are rising with them. I hope all of you have been having a great weekend!

Tonight I'm going to showcase a silver bar that is new to me, but is already one of my favorites. It's a 1776-1976 200 Years of Independence Silver Eagle Bar. Check that out!

It's serial number is 023679.

image.png

image.png

I was going to take it out of the case, but was having trouble with it. As I don't have any spare cases for 1 oz bars, I opted to do the less-than-ideal, but safe thing and leave it in its protective shell.

There are no markings to indicate what the mint is and I haven't been able to discover who made it, so if you know, please let me know in the comments below.

I would love to get more of these, but they only had the one at the LCS. I got it without thinking twice. I'm really getting into these numbered bar and rounds, especially at the price of a generic round.

Do you know who minted these silver bars?

Ono Small.png
@themanwithnoname

Sort:  

NIce Vintage bar. Sorry, I don't know who made it as I'm just a pirate. Hey @goldenarms or @silveringots you guys know anything on this bar?

Thanks! No worries, pirates are experts in other coinage. If I get pirate rounds and don't know, I'll hit you up for info. :)

I like it. The eagle looks like an eagle and that is a bit rare...

It is rather rare to find eagles on coins that actually look like eagles. I think this one did a great job!

Nice find - very cool. No idea on who made it but I see them SOLD on Ebay between $23-25 USD shipped.

Thanks, I really like it!

$23-$25, that's even lower than what I was seeing for the listings. When prices are high, think about selling. When prices are low, buy more! Heh

No idea whatsoever. That's vintage stuff though, may be quite valuable a couple of decades from now

I've already checked on ebay and it seems like they're listed for at least $35, but also up to $100. Didn't check to see what they're actually selling for.

what did you pay?

oh great buy then sir! I'm surprised that the LCS had such good prices, they probably stole it.

I don't think they stole it. I think they just sell the rounds they get in and don't always take the time to figure out what they could get on ebay if they listed it there. Besides, ebay has a lot of fees, so just because someone paid say $25 for it, the seller probably only gets what I paid because of the shipping and the fees. So it works out the same. I just get a better deal to get it.

Like I said, I like the variety that this store has.

howdy there again @themanwithnoname...say is that local coin store a small mom and pop operation or a big place? I don't even know if there are "chain" coin stores. I don't even know where any are around here. of any kind. guess ya have to use the catalog or online store.

There's one that's a smaller shop owned by a few guys. The other is a bit bigger although I don't know their ownership structure.

That would be nice if there were chain stores for coins. We'd probably get even better prices. Although that would put more pressure on the smaller shops and I'd rather have more of them around. I like the convenience and selection.

I've just got the one and I'm trying to figure out what it's worth. I can't find mintage info on it though. I've seen them listed on ebay for between $35 - $100. Don't know where this one would fall. I really like the design though. It's awesome!


THANKS for a look at that beautiful bar. I want one of those! Serialized but not mint name stamped? I hate it when they don't stamp their bars. When I find out, I will be sure to share that with you and should you find out, will you let me know? Stack on, my friend!

Glad you like it. I found them listed on ebay for at least twice what I paid. I still don't think I'll cash in. I really like it. I'd probably even pay a bit more to get the one before or after in the series. It would be sweet to have them reunited.

Yeah, I'd be happy to let you know if I find out! :)

beautiful on both sides.
love it.
can I have it?
I'll pay postage.
lol. howdy @themanwithnoname! how it going?
used to deal with a manager who was from Vietnam and that was always his greeting. He also would say, after talking to a difficult customer, he's say..."that Ding bag doesn't get it!" tried to tell him every time I saw him and he used that phrase..hey man it's "Ding Bat!" but he never changed.

I don't suppose that's enough material for you to come up with another themanwithnonameism?

I'd love to give you one, but seeing as I only have the one, I'm not planning on selling or otherwise relinquishing this bar. I would actually like to see if I can get the one either before or after it. That would be extra special.

Your manager sounds like a funny guy.

"It's one thing to pay the postage. It's another thing to be the postage. My brothers tied me to a crate and made me use my piggy bank money to ship myself to the youth penitentiary. I got out and good behavior and always meant to go back for a visit, but I couldn't find another crate."
-theyouthwithnocrate

lol! oh man these are killin me!

Ha ha ha, glad you're liking them. :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59043.03
ETH 2983.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72