You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What can we do to grow the STEEMSILVERGOLD group? Lets have some ideas #58

I hate the be "that guy" that throws a wet blanket on an brain storming session, but I have a few doubts about some of the "growth" strategies I'm seeing. I think this community is good just the way it is.

Would I like to see it grow? Sure. But if it's going to grow, it should grow "organically", not with some Steem-Steroid Powered Franken-Whale.

Looking at the member list above, we've got about 100 members and we're growing. What happens when the group-whale doesn't upvote me as much as I think it should? What happens when the group-whale upvotes the same guy 3 times in a day? You get the picture. Accusations of favoritism, cheating, and black-listing will not be far behind.

**Let's face it, we're all stackers because we are by nature contrarians. ** We see everyone unquestioningly going in the same direction and we say "wait a minute. Is this really the right direction???"

Now I'm not just here to point out problems, I also wish to offer a few solutions:

  1. Create a desktop link to @steemsilvergold. Tired of seeing all the crap from your 1000 followers? Create a desktop link to our group and see only our posts.
  2. Upvote our group regularly. Obviously.
  3. Post your stacking comments to other groups. I've been trying to carpet bomb the bitcoin-boys with comments about gold and silver. Maybe I'll even open a few eyes while I'm at it.
  4. Put your own skin in the game. Having everyone "chip in" is a horrible idea (for the reasons stated above). It's straight up Marxism. I came here to discuss my passion for PMs, not join some Hippie-Cult-Commune.

If we're not careful, we could destroy our little oasis in the midst of a sea of Steemit Crap.

Sort:  

great reply, i think as far as the whale is concerned, ground rules would need to put into place. The group is small now, and maybe it could be a thing were a starting group would invest in it but its upvotes go to all members. Starting investors would own the whale account and use curtion money to reinvest into the whale. Down the road in 1-2 years if there are 1000 members, they will all get a tiny piece through upvoting and but maybe only 40-50 members will own the whale. Every member get benefit and the better the content the bigger the whale becomes. Not about growing the group as much as making it better for members we have already.
That desktop idea is really good, to filter out all the rubbish. That is deffo a good idea.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59999.40
ETH 2646.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44