Silver Morgan Dollar Journey #4: When Did You Get Your First Morgan?

I recently shared my previous Morgan dollar videos to catch up to present day. Well I just received another MS64 for the box! With this post and video I would like to make it a little more interactive. I would like to ask everyone when did you get your first Morgan Dollar? Was it recent or when you were a kid from a grandparent? What's the story? People who are passionate about their hobbies or investments one would think there is a great or interesting story behind it.

My first Morgan Dollar came from my grandpa when I was younger. I remember looking at it and being amazed at it's age and that it was real silver. Up until that point I never really thought about silver or even gold for that matter, but it seemed very cool just to hold it in my hands. It opened my eyes to coins in general and there's something about holding a coin over a hundred years old. I was young at the time and tucked it away. It was a long time before I gave coins a thought again. Now that I have been getting into coins all the nostalgia is coming back.

I would love to hear your story!

![]()
Sort:  

Got my first Morgan in a trade a couple years back 👍 Nice Vid

I inhereted about 20oz worth of silver coinage from grandpa after he passed. Most of it was Morgans and Peace dollars. I split it up with my brother, and to this day, all the Morgans I have are the ones that came from gramps.

Reading this I now remember you speaking on this in the past. It’s awesome to have something from your gramps i’m sure. I cherish all the stuff from my family that’s now gone. Thanks bud!

Great job brother! I never had a slabbed Morgan but the first one I got was when my grandpa passed away in 2007. I still have the 1898 Morgan in the safe!👍🏼🍺🥓

That’s the same year as the one my Grandpa left behind! Very cool brother.

Out of all the coins I have I don't think I actually have a Morgan Silver dollar....I think I know something that is going straight to the top of the list!!

It’s a great one to have for sure!

My father gave me my first Morgan 35 years ago. he had a variety store for forty years and would get a good amount of silver coins as change and he would give me some .

That is so cool! I’ve heard of people getting gold coins in stores back in the day too. If we could only go back and grab some!

You almost got my story exactly. I got some old silver dollars when my grandpa passed away. I sometimes carry around an 1884 one as a love of silver has been passed down to my dad and me.

It’s awesome you have something that has been passed down like that. I plan on giving my kids some special pieces one day. Thanks for the comment!

Nice coins. I live in europe, until now I have no Morgan Dollar.

Maybe one day you will get one! I know I enjoy coins from over there.

You have received an upvote from STAX. Thanks for being a member of the #steemsilvergold community and opting in (if you wish to be removed please follow the link). Please continue to support each other in this great community. To learn more about the #steemsilvergold community and STAX, check this out.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64504.36
ETH 3414.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51