What make's you the stacker you are today?

in #steemsilvergold6 years ago (edited)


This afternoon while i was in work, the maintinance team were in my department installing some new electric box for some new stuff. I like most of the maintinance guys and as it was near the end of the work day and everyone else was cleaning up, i decided it would be rude to not go over for a chat. It was 2 of the younger guys and they are always a good laugh and i get abit of criac out of them. One of them knows im into crypto and was asking me about bitcoin and what i thought. He looked into mining BTC a few years back but never did, he never bought any either as he thinks it's a scam and and being controlled. He watches alot of conspiracy doc's on youtube and was saying the Rothschild family were buying into BTC and i was telling him if it were true, they would either own all of it are none of it but i thought he was talking shit. So we were debating with some verbal ping pong and the other maintinance guy pipes up and says, im gonna buy some gold. Bitcoins no good when the lacky goes out, is it? I insta stopped what i was saying, turned to him, raised my eye bow and asked, you stack gold Stevie? He answered me back that he had abit of extra money and was looking at buying an oz. We spoke about it for 15-20 minutes and he had alot of questions about were to buy it, what to buy, how much should everything cost, are there many scam sites. In short i told him to buy gold sovereigns and use akinsonsbullion..com as they offer an easy sell back service. I explained they would best value to spot price and sovereigns are easy to sell and will always have a buyer.

I was on my 4 mile cycle home from work i was thinking about the maintinance guys and trying to remember what it was like being a brand new stacker and having all those questions. 5 Years ago, the idea of spending £500-700 on silver bullion would have seemed retarded to me. For one, thats alot of money to spend on something you can't do anything with and 2, That's to much to be spending online were i could get scammed but now i do it every 6-8 weeks and it's never enough. For me from the start stacking was not a way to get rich, i was trying to not spend all on my money on rubbish. I was trying to save some for a rainy day are start a retirement fund. The spot price of silver today in £'s in within singles pennies of the spot price when i started in Nov 2013 and it does not bother me 1 bit. Now, if i had bought stocks are any other type of investment and this happened, i would be very pissed off and annoyed. Strange that? but then again i dont stack as in investment. It is an investment but i dont think about it like that. I think about it like its a game and the game is each oz is a point and i need to keep getting new high scores and the game ends when im dead.

From someone else's point of view i have no idea how they look at their stack and stay motivated to keep at it. Like most stackers, i am self taught. There are no bullion shops/stores in northern Ireland so i had no old guy to chat with for hours with over a counter about bullion. I always imagined bullion shops owners to be old and chatty as fuck like grand fathers wanting to pass on sweet knowledge. 5 Steem reward for anyone that finds me a bullion dealer in my home country. I learned everything from the internet. I watched lots and lots of youtube videos and learned very little until i joined thesilverforum and after that, it was good night. I learned everything from there, them guys know there shit and are happy to share the wisdom, everything silver are gold. They really go into great detail for every post. I have seen guy write a 1500 word post about a queens beast, that's insane. But what was best was the fact that i could ask almost any question and get a good reply back from someone. Nobody ever answered back, look it up on google. There are alot of different factors that mold you into the type of stacker you are. From a buying point of view, i stack a certain amount of certain coins every year and buy treats along the way like the 10 Steem rounds im ordering tomorrow evening, yeaa!!. I take money out of my pay each Friday morning when i get paid and transfer it into an un-used ISA account. When there is enough, i buy would i need. Rise and repeat this every couple of months until i have everything bought and im just stacking for oz's. I have been doing this for 3 years and it works for me. I dont think i ever thought one time seriously thought about selling any are all of my stack. I guess it's because i dont miss the money leaving my account every week, its like paying tax are into a retirement fund and i expect to lose that money every week. I mean i have made no sacrifice for my stack by buying it the way i have, little and often so i dont expect any reward. That might sound stupid but i cant think of another way to word it.

Always, what are your stacking habits? How have your surrounding's and experience's molded you into the stacker you are today?





Sort:  

Balls to the wall, every last dollar i have, blitzkrieg firepower, full-on, maniacal stacking every-single-fucking-day!!!

I was a serious collector, the kind that do not think about premiums but only thinks about quality. I did it for almost 40 years. Last year I started watching several channels in Youtube and noticed that having such nice coins would not help me much in case of an economic debacle. So I started stacking bullion and spending hours everyday in Ebay looking for good deals. They exist! If you follow my articles you will see what I bought. The numismatic material is still with me, but I have so much fun searching for bullion and semi-numismatic coins!

I'm with ya there champ! The numismatics are fabulous and hard to resist, but in terms of what to do when the shit hits the fan, we all need some bullion that we can easily trade.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

When I started I was a full blown collector, didn’t own one piece of bullion. But since selling that to pay of a bad business venture and returning. I would now say my stack is 50% bullion, 30% collector coins, 20% semi-numismatic.

"I always imagined bullion shops owners to be old and chatty as fuck like grand fathers wanting to pass on sweet knowledge." 😂🤣😂

Great post man. I am self-taught too via the internet. There is no bullion or coin dealers for hours drive so I kind of go in fits and spurts with online orders (I'm on a spurt right now :p). I do look at it as investment, started in mid-2015 so my cost-average is pretty good but the more I learn the more convinced I am that this is a smart way to save.

Great post, didnt have time to read it till now or reply, my story's a typical one although, reason i mainly stack is I don't trust the system. I Don't stack for weight solely, more cheapest semi numismatics.
As it works for me and I'm used to buying and selling something. I've done it all my life so seems logical to try do both and grow my stack at same time. I Try to be selective and stick to my criteria and 3 years into a five year setup plan.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62623.58
ETH 3021.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72