Nevada Silver Co. - John J. Ford Jr. Fantasy Ingot??steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemsilvergold6 years ago (edited)

I believe it makes sense to do an immediate follow up article to the recent discussion of "The Franklin Hoard" involving John J. Ford Jr. This is major history in the world of numismatics. I consider silver ingots to have numismatic value. Similar to old coins that are based on condition, unique factors, errors, and strike. Silver Ingots also take all of those factors into consideration when determining a value.

Now, "The Franklin Hoard" turned over many unique silver ingots that the world had never seen! Hence why the mystery continues. Did John J. Ford Jr. personally manufacture them? Or play a role in their production? I want to present Nevada Silver Co. silver ingots. The photos below are two examples that I own. The photos demonstrate two different molds sizes and landscapes. Check it out for yourself...
image
image
Both Nevada Silver Co. ingots share a $ value as well as an odd weight stamp. Purity stamp has a noticibly larger gap in between one vs the other.
image
Here is a photo showing the difference in mold size. One is thinner and shorter in size. The thinner shorter version seems to be less common amongst known examples.
image
999 and FINE have been doucmented stamped on the front, top edge, and reverse side of the bar. These two examples have different purity stamp locations.
image
The big difference here aside from the mold is the SERIAL NUMBER. A serial number on a Nevada Silver Co. ingot is not common. From my experience majority do not have serial numbers.

The differences between the two ingots shown above is certainly amazing. One would ask the question. Why are they so different? My first thought is that they were not produced in an efficient facility. Intentions were never for mass production. Each one is unique! More than likely someone produced one at a time in a small scale set up. Was this the work of John J. Ford Jr? Let me turn to the text book...

image
A photo of a documented example that sold at auction.
image
An amazing drawing documenting that "Ford" had 300-400 bar's. A comment was made at how bad the "die" was. That the eagle in the hallmark actually looked like a screaming goose!

This book is mindblowing! The type documentation presented in it is so unique. It's just full of evidence. Leaving it up to you to put the pieces of the puzzle together. I hope this article was informative and showed another side of the silver ingot world !! The history is all here!!

A Nevada Silver Co. silver ingot sold on EBay a few weeks ago for $1900.00.

If you enjoyed this article please RESTEEM UPVOTE and FOLLOW!

Follow me on Instagram: collectbulliondotcom
Thank you to @marynessc for the cool banners!
image
image

Sort:  

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

I'm really getting in to these now. The history and stories behind some of the bars is fascinating.

Next time I'm out and about, I'll be keeping my eye out for different designs.

@welshstacker your going to run into some material eventually! Keep you eye out and continue to educate yourself. Appreciate your open mind. 👊

How long ago Nevada Silver Co closed its doors? Didn't it leave any production documents?

No information for Nevada Silver Co. to my knowledge. I have personally researched them and have been unable to find any info. Fantasy ingot....

@silveringots I may have missed it, but what is the name of the book you were using and the isbn? I really love having reference materials to pull information from when I am purchasing items or if I get something I am not perfectly researched on. Otherwise, really cool looking and rare ingots. I like "the screaming goose" or looks like a turkey buzzard to me, but if it was all privately done then that is simply amazing. Thanks for sharing brother!

@dwingsworld the book is titled John J. Ford Jr. And "The Franklin Hoard".

It took me a year to find this book. It itself is a collectable item. I got lucky and several popped up on EBay. I purchased it for $185. I have seen them sell for $300. It's honestly worth every penny if your into old US ingots and history in general.

Thanks for your support brother.

Do you have a affiliated link to buy the book?

@gomatthew I don't. It actually took me 1 year to locate a copy. Every once and a while they pop up on EBay. I paid $185. I have seen them sell for $300. The book in itself is a collectable item. It is titled John J. Ford Jr and The "Franklin Hoard."

You have a lot of very unique and collectible pieces it seems. I was going to comment on how the eagle looked like a goose, and then you mentioned it. That's amazing they're worth so much money, but since there are so few in existence, that makes sense.

Thanks @manwithnoname! Prices are certainly eye opening. Once the history is explained long with the rarity. Prices are easier to understand. That is what is nice about being able to break down a specific silver ingot here on steem it. It's more than a photo with a small caption. Your able to present the entire story here...

$1900!!! That is awesome. I really enjoy reading about the history behind all of these bars. Thanks @silveringots!

$1900 was a surprise as they have been selling around 1k privatly the past couple years. The true test is always a public auction! Glad to hear your enjoying the articles!👊

@silveringots You have received a 100% upvote from @introbot because this post did not use any bidbots and you have not used bidbots in the last 30 days!

Upvoting this comment will help keep this service running.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60023.73
ETH 3191.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45