Homework!

Man, when my dad goes out of town he always tries to get me do some extra things around the house while he is gone. Well this time I was asked to do a little research and to do a steemit post.

Screenshot_20180307-183806.jpg

I really did not mind the research he asked me to try and find. It was really kind of eye opening to me.

Here is what he asked me to find out. First I guess maybe him and another steemit member talked about this and he felt it need a little more research.

  1. How many oz of gold and silver are available in the world today. ?

  2. If only 1 % of people hold silver or gold in the world, what would that look like in oz's?

  3. What would the % be if everyone had 1000oz?

So here is what I found out for the 1st question. There are between 3billion to 3.5 billion oz of silver in the world. There are 5.8 billion oz of gold in the world.

Screenshot_20180307-183636.jpg

So there you have it, the answer to the 1st question. Wasn't really that bad, simple Google search gave me the answer. Now I did not realize that there is more gold than silver in the world. Seems to me that silver should cost more.

Screenshot_20180307-183720.jpg

Let's move on to question number 2. Here is what I have come up with.

  1. There are 7.6 billion people in the world as of 2017, 1% of that would be 76 million people. So if all of the silver was for purchase that would give the 1% of the population 46oz of silver each.

  2. Now with gold it's a little higher, if all the gold above ground was for purchase the 1 % would have 76oz each.

Alright now for the hard one, what if everyone had 1000oz of silver, what would the percentage be?

  1. Well if my math is correct, which I think it is. If everyone that was holding silver had 1000oz it would be 0.4 % of the world population.

So to answer the myth of what percentage of people stack in this world, I would have to say 1% or less for silver and 3 to 4 % for gold.

ZomboMeme 07032018184251.jpg

Thanks @raybrockman (pops) this was kinda fun and really eye opening.

Thank you and peaceout

@sidewayzs13

Sort:  

Great post sidewayzs! I found it very interesting how the numbers broke down and thought the presentation was clear. Also, holy crap!!! Silver is totally undervalued right now at 80:1 ratio with gold!

Thank You Sir! Should Be 1:80 hahaha

You are gonna’ be the richest fucking teenager in Alabama in a couple years! — talk to Ray-Ray about getting some litecoin 😳

I mean it 13!

Good for!!!! Really did a good job with this one. Thanks for spending a little time to learn something. 😉 gonna try and get you the Guy Harvey round if I Can make it before they close tomorrow.

That would be great, I love Guy Harvey, I wonder if anyone on steemit has any of his Stuff? Thanks Dad!

Great job. That was very interesting. I didn't know there was less silver than gold. Learn something new everyday. Keep up the good work

me either, Thank You

Lol! 😂 That was tonz o fun! Great post!

i really learned something. It wasn't so bad

Now I did not realize that there is more gold than silver in the world. Seems to me that silver should cost more.

Same here. I figured there would be much more silver than gold!

I guess I'd better get on that. Need to get to my 1000oz!

Thanks for the article. Very entertaining and motivating.

Wow, based on your math then, when this reset finally happened, the wealth will transfer to the new 1%. I'm starting to feel real good the way this thing will turn out.

By the way, this will be my 800th POST, mostly to the #steemsilvergold community.

That was awesome thanks for getting that done for your Pa. silver should cost more for sure. Great job on the post. 👍🏻

I no right!, Thank You Sir

Great work @sidewayz13! If everyone in the world had a piece of silver, it would be tiny for sure!

You have received an upvote from STAX. Thanks for being a member of the #steemsilvergold community and opting in (if you wish to be removed please follow the link). Please continue to support each other in this great community. To learn more about the #steemsilvergold community and STAX, check this out.

A+

Great post even i didn't realise there was more gold bullion than silver bullion that's crazy!! because about 7X more silver is mined out the ground but gets thrown to landfill...its hard to get your head around :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58006.10
ETH 3098.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43