Steem Round Update - Generic Steem Round Proposal!?!

After taking a few weeks away from the Steem Round I can say that I am back and ready to roll! Recently I was talking to a Steemian (@themanwithnoname) about creating a Generic Steem Round that would have the same design (the reserve of the 2018 Steem Round) on both sides.

Here are some of my thoughts about it:

  • Unlimited Mintage - More can always be ordered
  • No Serial Numbers - Since there is no limit it would be better to not have serial numbers.
  • COA - Since there is no mintage limit a COA would probably not be necessary, but could be included.
  • SteemSilverGold Donations - A set portion of the proceeds from the sale of the rounds would be donated to #SteemSilverGold in some form or fashion! It could be to support the SSG bot, contests, causes, etc.
  • Order Any Time - This would not take away from the yearly Steem Round, but would be something that could be purchased at any time! Orders of 20 would come in tubes, others in clear plastic envelopes

This design would be on both sides of the round

I am curious what the community's thoughts are regarding this!

Sort:  

What about some gold coins? I would be interested in that, but i know that there's more potential issues with more expensive coins!

Ohhhh good call!! Let me reach out and find out!!!

I think it’s a good idea, but since we are the ones that support this community. I think having the SSG tag on one side would make more sense. Anyone can still buy them, but without this tag they wouldn’t exist. Just my opinion.👍

This ^, and combined with what MW said, there could be a qr that leads to #steemsilvergold.

Yeah I agree, SSG tag on one side would be much better rather than two sides of the same thing.

I'm definitely in support of the idea. Glad we had our little chat. I read through the comments and it seems like there's a lot of support for various ideas.

I would say that there are tons of cool things we can do. We can find new and exciting ways of making even more rounds throughout the year. My initial thinking was that we would make something that uses the beautiful design we have on the back, but doesn't have to have a new die created, or doesn't infringe on the Steem Silver Round, especially since it just came out.

My thinking was that we would do the reverse design on both sides of the coin, and have it minted American-style so when you flip it, it looks the same. They already have the die and it would be a cool, little thing to tide us over until we start working on the design for the 2019 Steem Silver Round.

Unless we decide that we want to do a 2nd Steem Silver Round for the year, I think we should stay away from creating a new design/getting new dies made.

If we do want to do another round, then I wouldn't want to wing it. Let's get a design team going to make something awesome!

Just a few thoughts. I'm glad to hear everyone's ideas. I think having a gold version would be sweet! It's probably out of my price range right now, it I'll bet it would look amazing. :)

I'd love to use these as a recruitment tool.
Meet a mate at a bbq, tell him about steem, drop a shiny coin on him.
He gets home, finds it in his pocket, jumps online to have a look.
Seems like a waste to have both sides the same though.
Could we put a QR code or short URL on the other side?

We could do a different design on the other side!!

Even long URL would be fine!

Scannable QR code would be the tits

I don't know if I could swing $20 as a recruitment tool, even if the people were friends. What about doing copper rounds as recruitment tools? We'd have to get the die made with the QR code or whatever on the back that directs them to SSG, but we already have the other side ready, and could hopefully get them made for less than a few dollars each. Thoughts?

I don't know how hard it'd be to do both. Postage to Australia would be an issue for me.

That's true. It's rather expensive to ship stuff across the world. Probably wouldn't be worth it as much to ship copper as it would be to ship gold.

giphy (51).gif
You just got splashed by @rewards-pool. For more information on delegating to the @rewards-pool click the following link.
https://steemit.com/steemsilvergold/@rewards-pool/introduction-to-rewards-pool
@rewards-pool where a small delegation can get you a big splash.

Seems like an awesome idea. A fractional gold coin would also be cool. I dropped a comment on armshippie’s latest post mentioning the same thing, but maybe save that for the 5 or 10 Anniversary of the steem round. @yabapmatt mind meld. 😉☺️

We are still like 3 years away from that coming to fruition if we wait for that anniversary! Haha

We could go something as small as 1 gram but I think that’s too small

Plenty of time to work out a plan... 😉

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

I think that this is a great idea, but I think the back should be something different and I would be interested in seeing what a gold one looks like. Several people in the comments have come up with some great ideas.

Yeah I need to find out about a good version! I think that would be awesome!!!

I sit and stare at my 2018 silver round every minute of the day LOL

So yeah, I'd buy these in a heart beat and support it anyway I could but to co-sign on @yabapmatt 's suggestion...Gold coins would be super slick!

Not sure what size we could do that people would purchase while still being able to make out what it is! Haha

Oh no doubt....$3000 gold STEEM coins!!! Affordable for all :) lol

A minted year date would be good to add, delete the second .999 on the right and place the the year of minting.

The thought was there to be no date at all! So it would be minted whenever! The yearly Steem Round would have a date on the obverse for that year

For a serious collector a year, even if it is in an unlimited number, would make a difference, and it would also make the unique coins that much more unique as time passes by. If a person can get a coin say in the year 2020 that is no different than the one in 2018, then what is the value of the one in 2018, only the value of the metal, no other intrinsic value at all. So a person has no need to buy any coins in 2020, if they already have some from 2018. The year on the basic coin will have little if an affect on the number of the unique yearly coins of the limited edition.

Yes! You are correct about that! The original idea was something more along of what Sunshine Mint does. Basically just a generic round that stays the same. Whether it’s this year or next, more just get minted when he demand is there. It’s not collectible like the yearly steem round, but something to stack or start conversations about steem!

We don't want it getting confused for the annual coins though, that'd be my concern.
It'd also add to the cost if we change the design each year. I imagine these would be low premium, so we'd like them to be competitive in that market.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57824.15
ETH 2965.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70