Vintage Silver: Draped Bust, Buffalo / Indian Head, and a Silver Trade Unit. (Got some sweet toning and a vid too)

in #steemsilvergold6 years ago

So I was told that the Mercury Dime wasn't an error. But surely this Buffalo Nickel accidentally struck on a generic silver round planchet must be extremely valuable. Should I have it graded?
IMG_1544.jpg
IMG_1542.jpg
available for trade my silver buffalo for your gold buffalo

What else do I have in this old roll of generics.... hmmm. Oh, there's this Silver Trade Unit. I like this one because the reverse is fairly high relief.
IMG_1537.jpg
IMG_1539.jpg
hard to tell in two dimensions

Here's a vid if you want a closer look. It's not "Ultra High Relief" like some of these modern coins. But the bird's breast really pops out IMO.


*check the vid if you like, but be sure to come back and drop a FAT UpVote"

Last round of the day I almost saved until tomorrow, because it's also based on an old coin, the Draped Bust
IMG_1545.jpg
This one's a beaut! Check out the rainbow toning on the reverse. Hard to pick up on camera I've found, but still comes through pretty well.
IMG_1547.jpg

Wow, this is pretty fun and satisfying. Sorry working long shifts these last couple of days. I'd love to put more time into researching the mints and histories of these rounds. Any info you'd like to contribute in the comments will be greatly appreciated.

SSG.png

Sort:  

I love your pick-ups, @sbsparts! They are beautiful!!! So now, you make me want to show my vintage generics, too! You are too fast and too cool a stacker. What do you do the whole day...got to LCSs, surf dealers' websites, look at silver and buy them all? Hahaha, you are your missus are just unstoppable!

Cool silver SBS! How about I get you a real buffalo for your silver one? ;)

Absolutely awesome vintage sweetness! I have 1 trade unit like that, and is one of my faves for that very reason! The hi relief 👍 Good show bro!

It's hard to get good pics of the high relief and toning on coins. Either way those are some great pieces. Thanks for sharing.

The first round has a lovely toning with sharp details. I liked it.

love the old stuff need to stock up on it while I can still

The Eagle round looks in good shape it is hard to find them with not a lot of wear on the eagle. Yours looks in good shape.

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65229.52
ETH 2946.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67