Silver Animal EPIC Pouring Fail - Guess the Weight and WIN!

in #steemsilvergold6 years ago (edited)

So I decide to try to expand my horizons and pour a silver elephant. I got my mold:
IMG_2606.jpg

I packed the sand around it, made my sprue... heated up the molten silver. Then THIS came out of the mold.
IMG_2620.jpg

So I cleaned off the sand and took it to the dremeling wing of my private Silver Smithing Institution.
grind.gif

It wasn't pretty. The master silversmiths, one of them is even a real life doctor... like with a lighty thing on his head and everything, told me they could not save my elephant.
support.gif

I told them to do just do what they were able and give me back ole Stampy the elephant in whatever condition they could.
6 mil.gif

This is what they gave back to me.... Unrecognizable as an elephant IMO:
IMG_2611.jpg

That's not my Stampy... I don't know WHO that is.
IMG_2608.jpg

But still... wait Stampy was a girl, how did they?
IMG_2609.jpg
In all seriousness when I was grinding away the flashing between the legs I decided to leave a couple of bits hanging down

IMG_2607.jpg

With Stampy's new found testosterone coursing through her... HIS elephant veins... LION veins... He's decided to find himself a perch. Like Pride Rock or something.
pride.gif

And there he is. Changed his species, changed his gender... changed from plastic into silver. He may even want to change his name.
IMG_2614.jpg

CONTEST! Guess his weight and win some STEEM! Guess down to the 1/100th of a troy ounce, for example 2.56 ounces.

guess the weight of the lion only, WITHOUT the silver bar - pride rock

Contest will end on Friday, mid day Chicago time. Good luck!

Until next time my friends... I bid you Adieu!
IMG_2612.jpg

Sbs ChanBar2.gif

Please Comment, Follow, UpVote, & ReSteem

IMG_2438.jpg

SSG3.jpeg

ssg toon.jpeg

Sort:  

Beautiful pours!

0.67 troy oz

Contest Ended...

teaser pic.jpeg

To see the final weight click the following link and scroll down.

https://steemit.com/steemsilvergold/@sbsparts/poured-silver-moai-sbs-picks-up-some-new-skills

@sbsparts You have the wonderful skill of making replica of anything by molding metals. @printskill

2.12oz

1.52ozt is my guess. Awesome job!

1.01 oz

That's really cool! I'll guess 2.97ozt

That sounds like a traumatic ordeal. I'm sorry you had to go through all that. Hopefully the arrival of the lion will help calm you and take away some of the grief of losing your beloved Stampy.

I think the new Stampy is 3.72 ounces of lovely, lovely silver.

Great work I don't know of many that can literally change the fiber of an animal in all ways @sbsparts but you did it sir!!
Looks beautiful and I am going to go with
2.63
Fingers crossed lol
P.S. leave the back door of the shop open so I can dremel off anything or add what I must to get to this weight lol
Thanks for sharing my friend

Ok, but bring your own Silicone Carbide tips... those things are expensive :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61166.56
ETH 2987.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71