# 480 - 2 Euro Commemoratives - Part 26

in #steemsilvergold5 years ago (edited)

I love commemorative coins and, a few years ago, I discovered that the Euro Community was minting commemorative coins.

Each country has the right to mint up to two coins each year. They must be 2 euros, with the same face of a normal 2 euros coin and the same attributes and aspect.

The minting country uses the other side to show us what it is being commemorated.

They circulate exactly as the normal 2 euros coins.

The only exception to the rule of two coins each year is when they commemorate facts that affect the whole Europe. In this case the countries are allowed an extra coin.

They are Bi-Metallic Nickel-brass clad Nickel center in Copper-nickel ring, 8.5 g.

The first one was minted in Greece (2004) to commemorate the Athens Summer Olympic Games with a mintage of 50,000,000.

I will show all that I have, in no particular order.

The info about the coins was taken from Numista : https://en.numista.com/index.php

Today's first is a 2015 2 Euro from Latvia, commemorating the Latvian Presidency of the Council of the EU. It shows an archetypal image of a millstone, the logo of the Latvian Presidency of the Council of the European Union.

20190626_141904.jpg

The second is a 2015 2 Euro from Latvia, commemorating the "Endangered Nature - The Black Stork". It shows a black stork (Ciconia nigra) which is considered to be one of the nature conservation flagship species in Europe. In 2005 the Black Stork Protection Plan was adopted in Latvia.

The third is a 2013 2 Euro from Germany, commemorating the State of Baden-Württemberg. It shows the Maulbronn Monastery which is home to the most perfectly preserved medieval monastery complex north of the Alps. Founded in 1147, this complex has been a UNESCO World Heritage Site since 1993.

20190626_142030.jpg

I hope you have enjoyed our little walk around the euro commemoratives.

Thank you for reading. Please comment, upvote, resteem and advise me.

ssg toon.jpeg

Sort:  

Oh the Bavaria Stork coin would make a nice Christmas gift for my friend that collects coins with birds on them. On my Christmas shopping list.

You will find it on Ebay but do not pay more than 5 euros for it.

Posted using Steeve, an AI-powered Steem interface

Thank you Ronaldo!

I just read another article showing these 2 Euros. I wonder if they did any of those in silver for collectors. BTW, I want to ask you how you maintain your Voting Power t 90%... my VP is always depleted. I was away for a couple of weeks, and it got back up to the 90s. But as soon as I started up in steemit, my VP went down so fast. I am now in the low 50%!!!

Some countries, like Portugal, minted 2 1/2 euro commemorative coins in silver. About VP, I try to be around 90% but it is not an easy task. Today (06/28) I upvoted 137 articles or comments. and that number is a little low. Usually I upvote from 150 to 160 articles. You see that these upvotes cannot be very high...

Posted using Steeve, an AI-powered Steem interface

You received a 10.00% complementary upvote from @swiftcash 🤑
To stop similar upvotes from @swiftcash, reply STOP.

Thank you for the upvote.

Posted using Steeve, an AI-powered Steem interface

Thank you ronaldoavelino! You've just received an upvote of 75% by thejollyroger!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your posts



Please come visit me to see my daily report detailing my current upvote power and how much I'm currently upvoting.

Thank you for the upvote.

Posted using Steeve, an AI-powered Steem interface

You got a 30.26% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @ronaldoavelino! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 25 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 60364.09
ETH 2378.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57