# 209 - An Ancient Greek Coin

in #steemsilvergold6 years ago (edited)

When we see a used coin that is about 150/200 years old, we marvel about its trip from its mintage until today. We wonder what it bought, its history from pocket to pocket until it becomes part of our collection.

I want to show you now the oldest coin that I am the guardian. Because you know that coins do not belong to me or to you. We are simply their guardians. In time, others will be their guardians, unless someone destroys them.

If, for example, I want to know what is the history of one of my slabbed modern coins, I will possibly discover everything about it, from the Mint to a dealer that sent it to PCGS or NGC and then sold it to me. This coin will never circulate and will be kept in a slab, protected till the end of the times...

That is not what happened with the coin that I will show you now.

I do not know when it was minted, who (the celator) did it, what did it buy along the years and how it arrived in my hands after 2,400 years.

Yes, this coin was made in the State-City of Thourioi, in Ancient Greece, between 425-400 BC.

It is a silver Stater weighting 7.98g, with a diameter of 21mm and a thickness of 4mm. I read somewhere that I could buy a calf with this coin, at that time.

The obverse shows the head of Athena with a crested helm decorated with the sea-monster Skylla holding a trident.

DSC_0753.JPG

The reverse shows a bull butting, with a tunny-fish below.

DSC_0755.JPG

I only saw these green specs on the photos. Looking at the coin, you cannot see them.

This is the beginning of a new series about my Ancient Greek coins. It will continue very soon.

I hope you have enjoyed this article.

Thank you for reading. Please comment, upvote, resteem and advise me.

ssg toon.jpeg

[banner_moonbot.png(http://www.steemit.com/@moonbot)

Sort:  

It is the first ancient coin that I see in steemit. Have you seen any other here?

Nice dude. And yes we are custodians of historical artifacts

Yes, we are only custodians... Thank you for your visit and commentary.

Dude best part of the day is seeing what beautiful coins your showing off 😁

I am happy that you read my articles. I did not know because you never commented before and now we don't know how many people read them.

That is a stunner. 2400 years old! How did it come into your collection?

I bought it on an auction in New York, on the Internet, in 2000. They sent it to Brazil by mail and it arrived...

I’d like to think that 2,400 years ago some dude had to pull this coin off his stack to buy some souvlakis and a night on the town!

I think that it were many nights...

Cool coin, I have one similar to this, can you give me any info on it, cheers.

https://steemit.com/steemsilvergold/@silverbug/a-2000-year-old-silver-coin

That is a very fine specimen. I see the monster on the helm but cannot quite make out the trident.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60244.17
ETH 2333.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47