# 117 - 1992 Canadian Quarters - Part 1steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemsilvergold6 years ago (edited)

In 1992, to commemorate the 125th Anniversary of Canada, the Royal Canadian Mint issued twelve different designs representing a familiar scene from each of the twelve provinces and territories of Canada.

This is the first issue of sterling silver twenty-five cent coins since 1919.

Each coin weights 5.9g with silver purity of 92.5% and Proof finish.

It was emitted also, with the same design, a series of twelve nickel coins.

The first one is "New Brunswick" depicting the Oldfield Covered Bridge, spanning Smith Creek. Located in Newtown, the bridge was built in 1910 and was named after a local mill-owner.

DSC_0359.JPG

The second is "Northwest Territories" depicting an "Inukshuk". It is a sculpture of piled stone used as a place marker, navigational and communication tool used by the people of the Arctic region of North America.

The third is "Newfoundland" depicting a Grandy Dory, one of the most commonly used in Newfoundland.

DSC_0361.JPG

This series will continue very soon.

I hope you have enjoyed this article.

Thank you for reading. Please comment, upvote, resteem and advise me.

ssg toon.jpeg

Sort:  

I really like that Northwest Territories one, its a great design!

I really like that
Northwest Territories one,
Its a great design!

                 - senstless


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Inukshuk is a regional landmark and it appears in other Canadian commemoratives.

Very nice coins. I can't believe they aren't graded 70's. :)

Only my American coins are graded and slabbed. In Canada almost all coins are sold raw.

Ok. I'll let this one slide. lol

WOW, I look forward to knowing more about Canda through this series of yours! The covered bridge reminds me of old West movies about American pioneer days. I think I will read more about Inukshuk, as it is interesting to me. Thanks for introducing us to this series, and I will certainly be watching out for your articles on the 10 other coins.

You are very welcome here.

I've been on that bridge in New Brunswick, I think I even fished from it.

I've been on that bridge
In New Brunswick, I think I
Even fished from it.

                 - edthecanadian


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Oh! How envious I am!

Found it! ☺️ I like the NWT quarter a lot.

TIER UPVOTES ARE IN EFFECT!!!
NEW TIER UPVOTES user guide



Current price is 0.12 or 0.121 SBD for 200%, 250%, or 300% upvote based on tier level.

200% ($0.24) - Bronze Level - No requirements
250% ($0.30) - Silver Level - SteemAuto Upvote of 100% or $0.02 (whichever is possible)
300% ($0.36) - Gold Level - SteemAuto Upvote of 100% or $0.02 AND 50SP delegation

All delegators make a "striking" return on your investment!
50 SP --- 100 SP --- 200 SP --- 500 SP --- 1000 SP

That being said...

BOOOOOOOOOM!!!

The ground shakes as incredible power lights the sky. The thunder tests the quality of your post and deems it worthy, rewarding it with an upvote and comment from @thundercurator.

Increase your chances of a 100% upvote and support the project by:

Investors who delegate SP to @thundercurator are entitled to 75% of @thundercurator income after curation. Get on-board early and grow with us!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Ronaldo from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57808.87
ETH 3061.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33