Weight or collector? What kinda of stacker are you?

in #steemsilvergold7 years ago (edited)

When I started my silver journey, I made alot of bad purchases, as I am sure most of you did.

2017-07-23 09.26.10.jpg
Silvershield collections.

Are you a weight stacker or collector? When I first started I thought that I was going to be a collector, but quickly turned into a weight stacker. Now there is a couple of reason I decides to go into weight stacking.

First one, spot is spot, and thats probably what you will get for it when its time to sell. Trust me I understand that the price will skyrocket and it really wont matter what you paid for it, but wont it? Lets take ASE for an example. Right now you would be lucky to get a $1.00 over spot if you sold one. So if you took an ASE and compared it to a silver round. ASE would cost you $19.57 usd, with a buy back price of $17.87, so immediately you would loose $1.70 usd. Now lets take your average 1oz silver round, it would cost you $17.36 usd, with a buy back of $16.47, resulting in a loss of .89 cents usd.

2017-07-23 09.28.02.png
ASE price courtesy of Provident metals.

Silver round courtesy of Provident Metals.

So basically you would cut your looses in half by buying the silver round.

This is the main reason why I changed over to weight stacker. When the times come to sell, I believe you will be lucky to get spot, no matter what the coin is.

Now this is just my opinion, really doesnt amount to much, but what are your thoughts?

Are you a weight or collector stacker?

Follow me @raybrockman

Donr forget to upvote.

Sort:  
Loading...

I started as a weight stacker, no doubt. However now I try to have half my stack be higher premium pieces as well as growing my weight side with near spot generic pickups. I like to be able to trade some premium stuff for a greater weight at a future time, as well as hedging against further market manipulation. I'm not really a collector myself but I like seeing my stack appreciate even when spot price stays stagnant. It's a micro-diversification haha. Great topic, cool post, thanks for sharing with us!

Thanks for the visit and comment. Sounds like your plan is working for you. Keep stacking.

I guess I'm a little of both. I love the SSG coins for the message that goes along with each coin. Anything else I purchase is determined by how close to spot the round is. Good post, interested in seeing how the rest of the stackers respond.

Thanks for the visit and comment. I try to get as close to spot as possible myself.

weight stacker all the way, I only pay a premium on rare silver coins, bullion coins should be purchased as close to as possible as the silver price.

Smart stacker, right here. Thanks for the visit and comment.

I buy 3-50 of around 12 coins every year for date runs and a few odds i like the look of so i would have to say im collector stacker but as im from the UK, its cheaper for me to buy a ASE/kooks/elephants over a round/bar because of the 20% vat we pay. If i buy from certain euro counties, i can get coins with a monetary attached vat free, vat is still paid on rounds/bars. So i guess i can say i stack for weight in a way :) Nice post :)

Dont know much about the VAT, but from what i see it sucks. Thanks for the comment

I still do both , i collect bullion coins as close to spot as my provenance allows, but there is this deep seated need in me to form collections, ive done it with stamps fossils LPs and now silver coins. I love quality well designed coins with low mintage and with a bit of meaning behind them.
However you stack, at the end of the day you are exchanging fiat toilet paper for real tangible assets, that is the most important factor for me

100% agree, as long as you are trading out of the fiat paper, its a win win for you. Thanks buddy.

Weight. For my kids birthdays I usually buy them a cool looking coin but other than that I am into the rounds.

Me too, all about the weight. Thanks for the visit.

I'm both :-) I started off a weight stacker, then evolved into a bit of a collector - at the end of the day, its the weight that counts, but nothing will get in the way of me and a nice coin.
Weight stacking is the way to go until you have a bit of weight, then start treating yourself.

Anyone who knows the price will skyrocket after they lose control of the manipulation should def be in for the weight. I do however also love junk silver because of it's efficient use as currency in the event of a collapse- wouldn't want to have to saw a ten ounce bar into pieces just to buy a loaf of bread.

Very good point, I try to keep 100oz of 40% silver half dollars but other than that its all about the weight. I will be going to buy me a metal saw blade for my saw today. This thing could collapse tomorrow and that saw blade would be a must. Appreciate the visit and comment my friend.

I try to collect as much silver as I can while purchasing a decent coin as well for a decent price.

At your age you are already a step ahead of 99% percent of society, you keep stacking my friend and have fun with it.

Thanks...Steem on ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66625.38
ETH 3619.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.89