ONE MANS LOST, IS ANOTHER MANS GAINsteemCreated with Sketch.

T.G.I.P.S.F. UPDATE

20170925_165315.jpg

Some times in this world you have to take advantage of people to teach them a lesson. If you missed my post on pawn shop friday, then check it out before you continue reading.

https://steemit.com/steemsilvergold/@raybrockman/t-g-i-p-s-f-another-one-in-the-books

Well over the weekend I did a little research on the American Silver Eagle Proof. (With box and C.O.A.) Come to find out the proof set is worth a lot more than I paid for them. I paid $22.95 USD for each coin, well they are valued anywhere from $39.99 to $69.99 USD.

20170925_165455.png

JMBullion price.

So I went Back Today

Before you even say anything, I know, I have already used up my $100.00 weekly budget. I had to get the rest of these proofs before they repriced them or sold them. So how was I going to do this, seeing is how my budget was already spent. Then it came to me, I will trade. Not really knowing how this was going to go over with the shop owner, I took 1, 10oz bar and 4 1oz bars with me to work today. Well at lunch today I ran to the pawn shop, and before my eyes there where 9 ASE proof sets still left. So I asked how much are the Proofs? His response was " you don't remember what you paid for them on Friday" (which I did remember). He said $22.95. I Looked at him and said " I want all 9". Well he was a little shocked that I was there on a Monday and that I wanted all 9 of them. Then I hit him with it, "I will give you a ten oz bar for all 9 of them" he looked at me a little crazy and said " no one has ever wanted to trade silver for silver". He then replied " I don't think that will come out to the same price, if you had 11 or 12 oz's then maybe we could work something out". Well knowing that I had 4 1 oz bars still in my pocket I pulled one bar out and said "if you will do it for 11 oz then it's a deal. Well guess what? he did it and even asked me If I was sure I wanted to trade 11 oz for 9 oz? I said yes but lets do it before I changed my mind.

The Deal Is Done

20170925_172233.jpg

20170925_172250.jpg

20170925_172310.jpg

Was that a trade up or what? he should have done his research!!

Thats was 8....2010 ASE PROOFS and 1...2003 ASE PROOF.

All for 1 ten oz sunshime mint bar and 1 1oz apmex bar

Follow me @raybrockman

giphy (11).gif

Don't forget to upvote

1gxbq4.gif

Sort:  

One heck of a score there! My guess is the guy at the pawn shop paid spot for them. And so if that was the case more than likely who ever brought them in had hot goods on His or her hands if you know what I mean. I mean who’s gonna sell something like a proof for spot? Then the guy at the pawn shop not knowing what these are worth...unbelievable! Again that’s one heck of a score.

Thanks buddy, I will probably never get another deal like this one again. I don't think they where stolen, everything he buys he has to report to the police department and then he has to wait 5 days before he can sell it. Hey thanks for stopping by

Just amazes me that the pawn shop owner didn’t know what these were and what they are worth. You keep em or selling them? Just curious.

Not sure yet, thinking about outting a few up for some steem. Maybe around the 35 to 40 steem mark. I don't now though. Thanks for dropping by

Yes, that's an awesome trade. Good Deal!

Thanks

Great move Ray but i think you should have kept the 10 oz and 1 ounce bar and pawned the wifes dyson hairdyer instead lol \o/

Oh man,, that would have gotten me in some serious trouble. Thanks for dropping by

you could have said the dog chewed it up and its in for repair \o/

Nice score @raybrockman. That is a major score! We've all heard "let the buyer beware" ... today it was let the seller beware when Ray comes into your shop. Well done!

Nice strategy plan on the barter. Something tells me that you won't be able to resist buying your 11 ounces of silver back at a better price than you paid initially (just wear a disguise or have your wife do it).

Thats a great idea!!

Get 4 of 'em back next PSF!

So cool man 😎👍

Holy Cow Ray!

You just blew @uglyboy right out of the water!!!

That is an amazing deal, and as i've said before:

Like a Motherfucker who knows how to get things done... BOOM!

Very, very excellent trade!

Well played, Ray. The sad thought is that he was probably still making a profit. What would possess someone to sell proof ASEs so cheaply to a pawn shop? Every scenario I can think of isn't good.

Someone who didn't know what they had. It is a shame.

That is a great job you did. Just think what a little work can do for you.

Wow, makes you wonder what someone got for them when selling to the pawn shop in the first place, prob sold by a relative of a deceased collector for whatever temporary fiat they could get their hands on. But as they say you make your own luck and you made a fantastic trade.

Thats what i am thinking, someone dumped them for little or nothing.

I'm surprised he fell for this considering the line of work he's in.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.22
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66524.25
ETH 3616.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81