Coin Roll Hunting, Do You Do It?

in #steemsilvergold7 years ago (edited)

Coin Roll Hunting, Is It Worth It?

When I started my silver journey years back. I watched a you tube video on coin roll hunting, I thought to myself what a cheap way to increase the amount of silver.

Now for those of you who do not know what I am talking about, let me explain. 

U.S. coins that are dated 1964 or earlier, where made with 90% silver. This only includes quartes, dimes,half dollars and dollars, it did not include nickels. 

Now after 1964, the U.S. only used silver in half dollars and dollars. They were produced with 40% silver and only include dates of 1965-1969.

Nickels were only produced with silver from 1942-1945 and only contained 35% silver.

Now back to coin roll hunting. Basically you would go to the bank and buy a box of  coins. Go home and go through them to see if there were any silver coins in the rolls. 

I used to have very good luck with this several years back. I guess over time these coins are quickly disappearing. Some people claim that it depends on where you are at in the U.S. , if you can still find silver coins from bank rolls. 

I did go through a dry spell for about 8 months were I just wasn't finding anything, so I stoped. Well that was about a year ago. Yesterday I was at the bank trying to make a deposit through the ATM but it wasn't working, so I had to go in. Well the same teller was there from years back. She told me that she had 2  boxes  of half dollars would I be intrested in buying them. Of. Course I asked the important questions. 

1. Is it a sealed box.

2. If not a sealed box are they banked rolled or hand rolled. ( never get hand rolled)

3. How long have you had it.

These three questions need to be asked if you are going to coin roll hunt. You always want a sealed box.

They have only had the boxes  for 2 weeks. (I was worried that this could be a box that they have had since the last time I got a box from them) So I bought it. 

Now a box of half dollars will cost you $500.00. Now of course you can sell it back to them when you get done so really your just swapping currency for coins.

So last night I couldn't wait to go through it, these boxes  had resparked my intrest in coin roll hunting. It took me 1 hour to go through 100 $10. Rolls.

 

Here are the results.

1 1965 40% silver half dollar

5 1966 40% silver half dollar

4 1967 40% silver half dollar

3 1968 40% silver half dollar

1 1969 40% silver half dollar

My 2 pocket rounds as proof it is me.

Now each one of these half dollars contains .147 oz of silver. 

So basically this hunt produced, 2 oz of silver, with a cost of $7.00. (Price of 14 half dollars) all in all not a bad box.


So my question to all my fellow stackers,

Is coin roll hunting still worth it?


Follow me @raybrockman 

Upvotes and resteems are appreciated 

Sort:  

Very Nice @raybrockman
I used to do that before I went ALL IN with Bullion.
Good Silver coins are Still Out there, so I think its worth it if you have Patience...

Gresham's Law is a bitch. I suspect it will grow less lucrative over time as the good money is pulled out of circulation.

Also, you use "where" in places it should say "were" on several occasions.

Agree, but it was 2 oz for $7.00. Which is not bad. It wasnt the best hunt I have had but diffently not the worse. Thanks for the comment and visit my friend.

I've never done this, but it seems like a decent way to get cheap silver if you have some extra time. Nice finds!

Its hard lately, seems like all the junk silver is gone. Every now and then you will get lucky. Thanks for the comment and visit. Keep stacking my friend.

My mother was a bank teller for many years before retiring. I used to coin roll hunt on an almost daily basis. In the 1990's I had a lot of luck but honestly I quit doing it because everything over the last few years has been a waste of my time. I wish those the best of luck who still want to do this as I know it can and does pay off.

Tha ks for the visit and comment. It diffently is not as profitable as it used to be.

This feels like a treasure hunt by going through the dirt but it's fun right.

YES! I still coin roll hunt and think it is till worth it! Sure, you're not going to get rich doing it, nor do you score every time you get a box but there is still silver out there to be found!
Thanks for the post! I'm fairly new to coin roll hunting and silver stacking, been doing it less than a year but I had some pretty good scores!

Thats awesome my friend, welcome to the silver community. Keep stacking

Thank you! You too!

Thanks for sharing the details on how you roll hunt. I keep all of my nickels because a nickel's melt value is close to 5 cents. I also put aside pennies and separate them using a jewelers scale - copper pennies (1982 and earlier) weigh more - because copper pennies are worth more than one cent. I believe like junk silver they will be recognizable and be tradable.

Agree, thanks for the visit and comment, keep stacking my friend.

I never intentionally go out and buy coin rolls but will always look at my change just in case.

man, I would love to do this. here where I am it is not possible. to me your hunt was successful.

Steemit's Gold and Silver community is up and running : https://steemit.com/steemsilvergold/@hgmsilvergold/wow-steemit-officially-has-a-gold-and-silver-community-join-here

Great story. love the picture of the full box of coins.

Thanks my friend, appreciate the comment and visit.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 66425.17
ETH 3185.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63