This Weekend, I Got Lucky!

Spring Cleaning


It's been two years since I looked through my stuff. I figured it was time for a little spring cleaning...separate the stuff I won't use and give a bunch to the Salvation Army. Then I had to condense some boxes and break down some others. After collecting about 14 years worth of stuff, it was about time for a thorough sorting.

Back in South Korea...


Now, a little backstory here...most of these boxes have been packed since I left South Korea in January 2015. I had purchased some precious metals while I lived overseas. The shop I purchased from had some very reasonable shipping charges...even while I lived overseas. To keep my possessions a little more conspicuous, I packed about 400 ounces inside some shoes and made sure not to mention anything on the outside of the box, only listing it on box manifest.

Of couse, when I first had my boxes delivered, I made sure to pick up the "shoes" boxes to make sure I retrieved my beautiful stacks. Trouble is, I guess I missed one.

While reorganizing my boxes this weekend, I came across a box of boots that were uncharacteristically heavy.
image

I love my Keens. They have always treated me well in the past. As I have lived overseas before, I got into the habit of buying shoes in my size, since I might not always be able to find size 14 overseas. These babies were like brand new!
image

I tipped them over to investigate what I might have left inside and found a couple of rubes and a coin bag:
image

In the coin bag were 2 more tubes! The grand total was 3 tubes of Canadian Silver Maple Leaves and one tube of American Silver Eagles...or 95 ounces of shiney!
image

Almost makes spring cleaning worth it!

-Randomness



image

Sort:  

Look at that! Everyone go check you closets for shoes full of silver-thats f'n awesome😎

It was soooo much better than finding a $20 in jeans pocket or something! I really thought I got it all. Kind of glad I didn't!

You just gave me funny thought, I wonder if you put silver on your boots it would kill the bacteria and make them smell nice again?? Great 'Random' find bud! 👍

That's an interesting thought...could placing some silver in a shoe actually act to deodorize said shoe?! I know nano particles entwined in fabrics serve this purpose, but would a coin work as well? Hmmmm...

Its a good thing you found them because if not then someone at the Salvation Army may have found a big surprise when they got your shoes.

Well, it's likely I put them in these boots because they are brand new and I never would have just donated them away. That being said, it serves as a great reminder to remember to look through pockets before you donate! Double and triple check!!! Lol

You have received an upvote from STAX. Thanks for being a member of the #steemsilvergold community and opting in (if you wish to be removed please follow the link). Please continue to support each other in this great community. To learn more about the #steemsilvergold community and STAX, check this out.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 61757.83
ETH 2905.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62