My Favorite Silver Coin and most expensive coin for @generation.easy community contest.

in #steemsilvergold7 years ago

I was actually planning to showcase this coin anyways this week as is my most expensive 1oz coin I own, I'm not going to tell you just how much, but it's even more than the collector 1oz coins I've got from the Royal Canadian Mint.

I feel it was a great followup to my post yesterday, about my realization the I am totally a collector and not a very good weight stacker. You can read it here.

I want to thank @generation.easy for his awesome community shout out and contest post Here. This community continues to impress me everyday with there generosity and support for each other.

Anyways I feel I am always so slow to show the coin, so here she it.
IMG_4319.JPGIMG_4320.JPG

This is the 1997 Chinese Unicorn Coin, this series was only made between 1994-1997. It was available in various sizes in silver, gold and platinum during these years. Some of the mintages are very low and these command quite the high premiums.

Here is a brief description from http://www.coinex.com/other_chinese_coins/unicorn/, It goes on in much more details and they have photos of all the rest of the sets.

Between the years 1994 and 1997, the China Mint produced a series of unicorn coins featuring depcitions of Chinese unicorns, or Qilin, on the obverse face and images of European unicorns on the reverse face of each coin. The Eastern unicorn and the Western unicorn do share some common features and it is easy to see why the two have become conflated between Eastern and Western mythology. Both creatures are mystical and associated with nobility, each possessing distinctive horns on their heads.

To one day complete this complete set it my ultimate stacking goal, but many of the premiums are very high. This is the only coin that was ever purchased for me by my wife, so it also carries a special place because of that.

Thanks for checking this out today and be sure to stop by @generation.easy post and show him some love.


Banner by @bearone

Sort:  

Thats an amazing coin, well done my friend it looks awesome. It has a nice history too and the dragon and unicorn both look great.

Thanks, I love have both sides are equally cool. No lame queen on this one.

I dig that Chinese Unicorn coin. All of the Unicorns are relatively scarce coins and expensive. Not to mention, they're less common in ms69 and ms70 grades as the China Mint's quality control was pretty bad during the 1990s. The Qilin is sometimes described to be more powerful than Dragons and Phoenix in oriental mythology.

This post has received a 18.42 % upvote from @nettybot thanks to: @phelimint.

Send 0.100 SBD to @nettybot with a post link in the memo field to bid on the next vote.

Oh, and be sure to vote for my owner, @netuoso, as Steem Witness

Have a great day!

That is a very nice round great choice!

That's what I'm hoping too!

This post has received a Bellyrub and 5.57 % upvote from @bellyrub thanks to: @phelimint. Send SBD to @bellyrub with a post link in the memo field to bid on the next vote, every 2.4 hours. Be sure to vote for my Pops, @zeartul, as Steem Witness Hope you enjoyed your bellyrub!

Interesting and it's a proof unicorn which are much rarer to find. Upvote for you 👍

Nice catch, your a pro! It certainly is rarer and more expensive... lol.

Wow, awesome man and only 15%, your a total beast! I'll be reaching out to you again and regularly, just let me know if you wanna set any sort of limit, gotta spread the wealth.

Right now, no limit bro. I'll let you know if it becomes too much. I am very detail oriented about how I use my vote power, so far this is coming from what would be leftover if I wasn't using it like this. I'm still experimenting with it so things could change as I learn more about it.

Such a cool choice! Never seen this one before👍

I know I can't believe they aren't more popular or well known.

Just love the unicorn and dragon.
Thats probably my favorite coin ive seen so far!

It's pretty awesome eh? I have been so amazing and in love with the series since I stumbled across it.

Man, she's a Beauty! Very Nice...

That's totally my rarest and most expensive. Wish I will get more one day.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61963.30
ETH 2416.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67