Coin Roll Hunting in my change jar and wild silver!

in #steemsilvergold6 years ago

In my quest to get some money for crypto investing! I've caught the bug hard and my first week has been super exciting.

I rolled all my change in my house to take to the bank. It wasn't a massive amount but it all slowly adds up.

IMG_5489.JPG

Of course while I was at it being a coin collector I had to search through it while I went. You never know what you may find.

There are even a lot of people out there that actively "coin roll hunt" or go to the bank buy customer rolled change and search it for silver and key dates. I've considered but never found the time.

First I searched through the quarters, I pulled out all the commemorative ones, most don't have any real value and are heavily circulated, but I've always found these make nice like free gifts in eBay sales or giving them away to young collectors at coin shows etc.

Unfortunately no silver, I'm not sure I've ever found a silver quarter, but they had since in 1968 and earlier coins.

If anyone even wants any let me know, I'd be happy to send them to a loving home.

IMG_5490.JPG

Next it was the nickels, since I'm one of those crazy stackers who also follows the base metal prices and hordes everything anyways. I also pull out all the pre-1982 nickels that were actually made of 99% Nickel. Last I checked the Nickel value in them was around 7-8 cents and who knows what the future will bring.

IMG_5491.JPG

Last but not least were the dimes, there a few little commemorative varieties in the mix but otherwise not a lot too look for hear. The early ones were pure nickel also (as with the quarters as well actually) but that face value and mass of them doesn't make sense to hoard them away.

Today I did hit a nice score and found 1 silver quarter from 1968. In 68 they made to varieties a 99.9% nickel one and 50% silver one. It's easy to tell them apart with a magnet since the Nickel variety is magnetic but the silver one is not!

The dime is quite small and at 50% silver the value isn't very high but it's still exciting to find free silver!

IMG_5493.JPG

Anyways I know @raybrockman told everyone to double check there change, but there's a quick heads up about what to look for here in Canada

If you curious about coin collecting and silver be sure to check out our #steemsilvergold tag!

Sort:  

Nice find! I love finding silver in coinage.

Beep! Beep! This humvee will be patrolling by and assisting new veterans, retirees, and military members here on Steem. @shadow3scalpel will help by upvoting posts from a list of members maintained by @chairborne and responding to any questions replied to this comment.

At one time the coins were very expensive.

For a minute I thought you were rolling a bunch of fat joints! Haha

Nice work. I have stacked silver for about 20 years, but got into crypto's about a year ago and it has been a crazy run since. Good luck!

Кто ищет тот всегда находит. Удачи вам в поисках

Great find! It might be small but it all adds up :-)

You have received an upvote from STAX. Thanks for being a member of the #steemsilvergold community and opting in (if you wish to be removed please follow the link). Please continue to support each other in this great community. To learn more about the #steemsilvergold community and STAX, check this out.

I would like to buy a few quarters or dimes that have silver in them. I don’t have any silver change

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71297.37
ETH 3698.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75