#SteemSilverGold: MY GROWING STACK OF SILVER

in #steemsilvergold6 years ago (edited)


Hello everyone!

Look what I found in the mail today:


Hmm, it’s Wednesday and it’s yellow… I guess this photo can double as a #colorchallenge ‘Wednesday Yellow’ initiated by @kalemandra!

What can it be?? Let’s look inside…


The content is carefully wrapped in this lovely note: “Thanks Oleg, from @Madstacks.

Aha! I think I know what’s inside!

The latest addition to my growing stack of silver coins!!

What makes this acquisition extra special is the fact that I bought it on Steem, with STEEM! When I saw that @madstacks was offering some of his beautiful silver coins for sale, I couldn’t resist and made him an offer of 13 STEEM that I happened to have in my wallet on Steem that day. A week later I was a happy owner of this beautiful one-ounce silver coin (.999 Ag).

Source: eBay
This 1 Australian Dollar represents its home country tastfully with the depiction of the Australian Wedge-Tailed Eagle. A quick glance may confuse it with this American Eagle Silver Round on the photo to the right. But the fact is that it is, indeed, from the land down under. I mean, why would you place a portrait of a British monarch on an American coin?? (unless that coin is Canadian, of course :))

I really love my newest silver coin. Thank you, @madstacks! Pleasure doing business with you, mate! :D

My online hunt for silver coins


Lately I’ve been scouring Tradera.com (which used to be a Swedish subsidiary of eBay, but now belongs to PayPal, after the latter was made a separate company from eBay) in search of Swedish 5 kronor coins from 1954, 1955, and 1971? Why those specific years, you may ask? You guessed right: those were the years when 5 kronor was made of 40% silver. 40% is not as good and shiny as .999 Ag, of course, but I was reassured by the guru of silver stacking, Mr. @Phelimint himself, that it’s still okay to stack them. Besides, one can often find them cheap.

My stack of Swedish 40% silver coins started with this one, on the photo to the left. It’s a commemorative 5 KR coin from 1962, depicting Greek goddess Athena, with a text in Swedish that reads: LITTERATUR • VETENSKAP • KONST and means LITERATURE • SCIENCE • ARTS.



I’ve also got a small stack of “ordinary” old 5 kronor coins with 40% silver from 1954, 1955, and 1971:

This collection is still growing, as I’m finding new cheap deals for these coins on eBay.

I hope you enjoyed reading about my first steps in the exciting journey of stacking precious metals. Please feel free to post links to your own stacking experiences and adventures in the comments section below.


(all photos in this post, aside from the one from a listing on eBay, are my own)

Sort:  

Congrats on your growing collection! @ironshield

Thank you, Benjamin! Great to hear from a fellow treasure-hunter! ;)

Koleksi koin yang bagus kawan semgoga koin terus berjaya

Iya kawan, semoga sukses selalu

you are making smart decisions!! congrats..

It soon grows before you know it your running out of storage.

That wouldn’t be the worst thing to happen, hehe! :D

Just means for me i gotta buy another empty monster box.
One day i hope to buy a full one.

Im glad you got the coin safe and sound mate, its a beauty!:) I appreciate you sharing this too, good luck growing your stack!

I believe this is from the first year of issue in the Wedge Tailed Eagle series. Nice pick up!

Wow, I didn’t even know it was a series! Thank you for the information, @mikeshuh. Loved your blog, by the way.

Nice adds man, looks like we are slowly converting all of steemit. Going to be a lot of happy people in the years to come.

Thank you, man! People’s happiness is the best reward in itself!

Nice! Perfect times to be building up the silver stack - I predict good things for silver in the coming months.

1954, 1955, and 1971 - that seems a strange collection of years to have 40% silver. What happened in all the other years to NOT have silver?

The good thing is, it is a coin not a round. Price of 13 steem is good. I bought 10 of these wedge tailed eagles in 2014 (slabbed) and paid 31 EUR per coin. 2014 is the first year of what now has become a serie. I made a post on it recently!

Ah, thank you for pointing out this important distinction between coins and rounds, @goldrooster! I will correct my post right away have just corrected my post, following your comment. Your blog looks interesting! Keep steeming! ;)

Very good collection brother you can not go wrong with silver buy and hold..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56965.36
ETH 2498.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34