The problem with buying Gold...

in #steemsilvergold7 years ago

Hello!

Allow me to level-set: I'm new to buying precious metals and I'm new to this great community. You people are great, keeping doing all you do! I wanted to share some quick thoughts in case someone out there is new like me. I finally picked up two ounces back in July. My initial excitement abated rapidly after a few minutes. For some reason, my mind had cooked up the idea that I was going to have two huge bricks of gold to play with.

5340456-3x2-940x627.jpg

The truth is two ounces isn't really much at all.

IMG_20170809_000053142.jpg

I'm still happy overall, but now I know that the paper weight I'm really looking for costs more than $40K USD! The real problem with gold is that you can't get enough of it fast enough! If you're into passive investments, gold is great. I just think for me, I'd rather wear it or somehow get more utility from my investment. I guess for now I'll get that satisfaction from playing with the currencies.

If you're considering acquiring gold for the gratification of holding it in your hand, I'd recommend doing some calculations and ensuring you will be satisfied with the weight you end up with.

New goal: 5 ounces by June 2018 or sooner! God bless!

Sort:  

I'm just getting into Precious Metals at the moment. Where/How did you purchase the 2oz of Gold? I just opened an account with GoldMoney after hearing Peter Schiff talk about it on the JRE Podcast. Also, the Gold Mastercard is pretty Spiffy - I might pick one up next time I'm on the mainland.

I used Apmex - Thanks for the tip!

Congrats on jumping in! And Welcome! I would suggest that you look into the 24kt jewelry that is available. It is investment grade gold and it looks great. There are bracelets and necklaces.

There are also gold bracelets, necklaces, and rings available at 18kt, 14kt, and 10kt. These are standard jewelry gold pieces. Many local coin shops, pawn shops and other places that buy gold will also sell gold. These places have very nice jewelry pieces and they sell them by weight. You are paying for the gold and a little premium price because it's jewelry. The prices are much better than your mall jewelry stores.

appreciate the comment! I would definitely be interested in 18kt+ gold jewelry - one of these days soon!

Good post. 5 Ounces + 5 Bitcoin... kaBOOM!

It's amazing to think that so much wealth is packed into so small a package. Sure you can get a whole lot more silver for your fiat, but eventually all that silver will weigh a ton!

Welcome to #steemsilvergold!

I like your post. One thing you may like to try next time is buying a 1oz bullion coin -- like an Eagle, or a Maple, or a Krugerrand. It really feels great in ones hand, and when it's 9999 it plays tricks on your mind, because the object is far too heavy for its size. It's just not the same when they're in a slab or capsule.
Try it out!

Cheers! from @thedamus

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @nofiat to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To nominate this post for the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!

Nice goal! Keep stackin

Congratulations @nofiat! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @nofiat! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I once bought an ounce of gold to make a ring, it was such a small amount, I thought...is that all?

I do like the idea of a brick of gold...but I may instead just buy a hefty brick of tungsten, paint it gold, and use the rest of the money to buy some BTC on a crash...(JK)...Sirstackslot has the right idea, buy silver instead, and when the ratio gets to 45 or less, control your fear and trade half of the silver for gold...then you'll have the same amount of gold (as if you just bought gold now) plus some silver...a true bi-metal guy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63178.17
ETH 2581.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71