What is the 2nd Best Coin of the Year (After the Steem Round)?

in #steemsilvergold7 years ago

Golden greetings and silver salutations! There is a clear choice of what the coin of the year is, the Steemit round from the @phelimint. After that, though, I am sure the #SteemSilverGold community has various opinions. Personally, I have my criteria for buying coins:

  • Low Mintage (No Eagles or Maple Leafs for me)
  • A low premium above spot. (like $3-$5 at most)
  • I feel the coin could rise based on the coin itself and not just the silver price.

In no particular order, here are some of my favorites. Some of the other criteria I have for this list, is that I own 1 (or more) of each of these and they are dated 2017. For continuity, I will either use the stock photos from JM Bullion (JMB) or APMEX:

  • Republic of Chad Lion - Mintage of 50,000. Still only about $20 a coin at JMB. It is the 3rd coin in the African Lion series.

2017-1-oz-republic-of-chad-lion-silver-coin-obv.jpg

  • Australian Silver Koala - Mintage of 300,000. This is much less than the Kookaburra (500,000), yet is about a buck cheaper at JMB (about $22 vs. about $23).

2017-1-oz-australian-silver-koala-coin-rev.jpg

  • 20th anniversary Silver Britannia. Mintage of 120,000 (compared to the millions that will be made of the regular issue). About $22 at JMB.

2017-1-oz-30-ann-british-silver-britannia-coin-rev.jpg

  • Niue Star Wars Darth Vader - I try to avoid coins from Niue and Tuvalu as my usual joke is they have more different coins than residents, but this is a Star Wars Coin! Mintage of 250,000 and about $22 at APMEX.

151023_Slab.jpg

  • Barbados Trident - This coin became quite loved in the SSG community. Mintage of 30,000 and is about $22.50 at JMB. This is supposed to be the 1st coin of a 4 coin series.

barbados1oz-2x2-202x202.jpg

And Finally:

  • Netherlands Silver Lion Dollar Restrike. Mintage of 25,000. A bit more expensive than the rest of this list (about $24 at APMEX), but has the lowest mintage.

132626_Obv.jpg

So these are just some of my personal favorites that I picked up this year. There are plenty of other great coins out there from 2017 (though many have higher premiums). What would you have wanted to add to this list? These are just my humble opinions, so feel free to tell me why you dislike any of these coins.

Keep stacking and happy new year!

Alliance1.jpg

Sort:  

Totally agree. While, I do have some ASE and Maple Leafs these days my focus is on low mintage. I'm particularly fond of the Niue Star Wars Darth Vader and Barbados Trident.

If you like the low mintages, be sure to look at the Netherlands Silver Lion. It's such a great coin!

I don't have any of them ☹️. I love all of them, I couldn't choose between any of them, if I had to pick 1

You could always place an order and pick up one of each!

What with the post-Christmas spending blues, I won't be picking up any extra silver till at least the end 9f January now. Sad times 😭

One of my favorites of 2017 is The Silver Shield Death Dollar 2017 1 oz. Proof, which is a Double Obverse coin that mocks the best selling American Silver Eagle. On the obverse of the Death Dollar is Blinded Liberty and on the reverse we have Warbird.
I created a post on this coin. . . . https://steemit.com/steemsilvergold/@goldkey/the-death-dollar-from-silver-shield

SS DeathDollar 2017  Obverse Reverse.jpg

That's a cool coin! A lot of those Silver Shield Mini Mintage rounds are pretty cool.

I want a Vader, Trident and thinking about ordering a Storm Trooper while in at it!

You might as well! Both APMEX and JMB have free shipping at $100. Since I don't have a lot of disposable income, I usually buy just over $100 with each order.

I haven't ordered from APMEX yet but I think I will for this. But yep that's what I do at JMB as well 😁

You got a 0.67% upvote from @upme requested by: @vicspics.
Send at least 1.5 SBD to @upme with a post link in the memo field to receive upvote next round.
To support our activity, please vote for my master @suggeelson, as a STEEM Witness

This fantastic post has been chosen to be featured in the latest issue of 'Notes'. Please stop in and see what the rest of the fam is up to :D

On another note, please ask @enginewitty/X40L1N about a different banner as that one has been discontinued because it features an avatar from a disgraceful former steemian :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66599.03
ETH 3421.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63