SSG Community - Do you Keep an Inventory of Your Coins?

in #steemsilvergold7 years ago

Golden greetings and silver salutations! One of my #stackingoals this year was to organize my shiny stack. My issue is I that I am not sure how to go about it. So SSG community, how do you organize? I imagine that perhaps I should use a spreadsheet. If you use one, is there a template on the net somewhere?

Currently my coins live in multiple spots and they are in no way organized. Now the SSG community always has me wanting to buy more and this problem is just going to be exacerbated.

ss.JPG

This is going to be a uncharacteristically short post, as I need your input. Frankly, I am not sure how to handle this, short of creating a Google sheet and spending hours and hours manually writing out every coin I have ever purchased. What information do you feel I should keep on the sheet besides a description of the coin and quantity? I do not have good enough records to create a cost basis column. I could keep track of the cost basis going forward and look at my recent orders to at least determine some recent cost basis figures.

Help me SSG community...you're my only hope!

Keep stacking and sorting #SteemSilverGold and the #TheAlliance!

Alliance1.jpg

Sort:  

Oh yeah. I have a multi-page excel spreadsheet with the first page is the total of all the other pages. About every three years, I perform an audit to make sure my counts are still accurate.

I also created a excel sheet for all my investments.
It´s like a dashboard with some charts and stuff.
So I can track the development of my assets.

stocks, silver, bank account, cryptos, ...

Organize by Country, Mint, Date, Weight, & Theme...

COIN MAN by @pocketechange

I keep a spreadsheet, add every coin that i buy and put the price i paid for it (total of full cost of stack) i regularly go through the list and add what i think each coin is worth or the minimum i would sell it for so i have an estimate of the total value.

I have my average cost per ounce so if the spot price increases above the average it would be very easy to make a profit and helps me focus on getting coins under that average. I have a column counting my silver in grams, i like seeing how little a gram would have to increase to significantly increase my stack value and i count my gold in grams, also like seeing what the minimum scrap value is.

A coa column for any collectables so you have a record of numbered coins, i do love my spreadsheet, been stacking 6 years so its proper interesting to look back at what you was paying and how certain coins have nicely increased in value.

regarding your last sentence.... or sometimes to see, that we´ve been much higher and I bought some ounces for about 30€ :-D
Now the cost about 20€

But like the Rolling Stones said: "Time is on my side!"

I keep track of numbers of coins and total ounce count. But not much else beyond that. Most coins I don't track what years/designs I have unless I'm trying to complete a set. I don't track prices or anything either.

My excel contains 1. coinname 2. year of issue 3. weight in troy ounces 4. number of coins 5. purchase date 6. price per coin 7. total price (= formula) 8 spotrate per ounce on purchase date 9. premium paid in %(formule bit more complex) 10. sellername

You have received an upvote from STAX. Thanks for being a member of the #steemsilvergold community and opting in (if you wish to be removed please follow the link). Please continue to support each other in this great community. To learn more about the #steemsilvergold community and STAX, check this out.

During the last 7 years I always wrote down what I bought and what I paid.

I also calculated the average price for one ounce.

So I bought ounces for 14€ and others for 30€.
And after counting all the ounces, dividing the number through the sum I paid in Euro for all ounces I get the average price.

e.g.
500 ounces for 19€
200 ounces for 14€
300 ounces for 20€

All together 1000 ounces.
(500 x 19) + (200 x 14) + (300 x 20) = 18300€
That means the average price for one ounce is: 18,30€

That makes it much more easy to calculate the value of the whole stack.
And also gives me the chance to estimate how an additional buy of ounces would affect my average price.

Very often I bought some ounces after a price drop.
Just to reduce my average price per ounce.

So I´m always able to decide for how much I need to sell an ounce without making losses.

You got a 5.49% upvote from @yourwhale courtesy of @mikeshuh!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64143.39
ETH 2638.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80