Onzas From the Past...

in #steemsilvergold7 years ago (edited)

Golden greetings and silver salutations. I was reading a post recently and I realized that there are a lot of new stackers out here on Steemit. Many of you are familiar with the current Mexico silver Libertad design. However, did you know that there were a couple of previous versions of the Onza (ounce in English)?

For 2 years, 1979 and 1980, there was the coin APMEX refers to as the "Balance Scale" Onza. Here is one from my collection:

Scales.jpg

Bell.jpg

I am proud of how these pics turned out. Note that these are NOT pure silver, they are sterling silver. According to APMEX (who is my source for the remainder of this article), the coin "Contains 33.625 grams of .925 fine Silver for total of 1 oz of pure silver. I used to buy them when I would (rarely) find them at my local coin shop. Because they aren't pure silver, they used charge about as much as they charged for a generic round. I ALWAYS would choose these when they were in stock.

I do not know what happened in 1981, but a new design came out, the first Libertad, in 1982 and these lasted until 1995. Here's one of mine:

Onza 80 front.jpg

Onza 80.jpg

These are thicker coins that are also smaller in diameter than the current version. They feature 'Winged Victory', who is on the current coin.

Finally, here is the current day Libertad. You have probably seen these before and they are available at most online dealers for a few bucks over spot. This design began in 1996 and has remained since.

current.jpg

I hope you enjoyed this quick look back at silver coins past. Keep stacking!

Alliance1.jpg

Sort:  

Nice post and great coins, now I have more stuff to keep an eye out for.

these are nice

The older Onzas are pretty cool looking. Thanks for sharing.

Ooh. Old Mexican silver! Very nice mike!

beautiful mexican silver :)

You have received an upvote from STAX. Thanks for being a member of the #steemsilvergold community and opting in (if you wish to be removed please follow the link). Please continue to support each other in this great community. To learn more about the #steemsilvergold community and STAX, check this out.

Sneaky Ninja Attack! You have been defended with a 0.76% vote... I was summoned by @mikeshuh! I have done their bidding and now I will vanish...Whoosh

Your post has been curated by the @buildawhale team and mentioned here:

https://steemit.com/curation/@buildawhale/buildawhale-curation-digest-01-08-18

Keep up the good content.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63294.77
ETH 2638.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70