My First Order With Silver Gold Bull. A Cautionary Tale - Part 1

in #steemsilvergold7 years ago (edited)

Golden greetings and silver salutations! All, I wanted to test out the waters of turning crypto into silver. I have read multiple unboxing stories where the writer said they bought silver through Silver Gold Bull, so I figured that I would give them a try. It did not go smoothly, to start, but I think it is going to have a very happy ending. To my SSG friends, please Resteem this tale so that others may be prepared for what to expect if / when they attempt to order with Silver Gold Bull and pay with cryptos.

I went to place my order yesterday afternoon. Their site was easy to use and they had an "end of year" clearance sale. I saw a coin in the sale that I knew I wanted.

Britannia.jpg

photo from https://silvergoldbull.com/catalog/product/view/id/2551/s/1-oz-2017-falkland-islands-britannia-reverse-proof-silver-coin/

This is the same coin that was originally minted with the slogan "Britannia Rules the Waves", so there are less than the 50,000 originally quoted out there. APMEX's website lists the mintage for the common version without this slogan at 42,671.

Ok, so my order was ready, 5 of these coins at just over $100, for free shipping. I went through the check out process pretty simply.

They accept not just Bitcoin and Litecoin, but also Bitcoin Cash and Dash!

options.JPG

However, they have a list of rules. I highlighted the one that is going to come into play.

Rules.JPG

I read the rules and had my Coinbase account open and ready to go. I then hit the Place Order button. This popped up.

order blacked out.JPG

You can see I have an order #, so I know my Order went through. However, Coinbase decided to throw a wrench into the situation. When I sent the payment, I saw something on their site stating that due to a backlog of transactions, sends would be delayed.

So the 10 minute timer expires without my payment being received and Silver Gold Bull directs me back to my cart with the same 5 coins in it. I look under my account and there was nothing under Orders. I tried typing in the order number that had popped up under the search box "Find Order Number". The Order number does not come up. I had already sent the funds, the order had to be somewhere! I tried chatting live to ask about it, but the rep essentially is there to open tickets and not to answer questions, so no help there. I periodically checked throughout the night, but my order had just disappeared.

I figured I would call in the morning, since I was not going in to work (I have been sick with a damn cold and haven't left the house in a couple of days). I called and tried to speak to Billing. I let it ring and I sat on hold, but there was no answer and eventually the system forces you to leave a voicemail.

At this point, I noticed a change. My order appeared, but showed as cancelled. I felt better that my order was there, even if it did show cancelled. I had proof the order went through.

Fast forward to this afternoon. While I did not receive a phone call back, an e-mail came in stating:

"Hello, Your order has been re-instated as per payment received. We apologize for any confusion the interruption with our Exchange caused, and please feel free to contact the office should you require further information or clarification. Your order in now in queue to ship within 3-5 business days, at which time you can expect tracking information provided via email. Thank-you for understanding, Silver Gold Bull Inc."

I logged back in and a second order appeared. It was the same order # with a - 1 after it.

orders.JPG

I am not sure if this issue would have been resolved without the ticket the chat agent placed yesterday or my voicemail today, but either way, everything looks like we are on track! Hopefully, the next time I write about this order it will be the unboxing!

Keep stacking and keep supporting #steemsilvergold and #thealliance!

Source note: All screenshots were taken from the various pages of https://silvergoldbull.com.

Alliance1.jpg

Sort:  

Thanks for the story. I've had nothing but success with SGB, as a matter of fact, I made an order before new years and selected 2 day delivery. Because of the holidays and the weekend, it was 5 days before the order was processed, so they gave me free 1 day shipping.

Classy outfit. I will be converting more cryptos with them, primarily because they accept cryptos directly, and do not use that scum-sucking outfit BITPAY!

Curse you, BitPay.

I'm beginning to get a slight hint that you may not like Bitpay...just a little bit! : )

Try not to keep your crypto on a website, I use hardware wallets. I've been buying more silver but I won't sell my crypto for more.

I'm a crypto newb. Almost everything I have in the crypto world is in Steem. I just use Coinbase to move stuff around.

It's a rabbithole of knowledge

I've placed quite a few orders with SilverGoldBull and I have been very pleased with the services they provide. The chat option works very well and the customer service when you call is excellent as well. It's been a while since I've placed an order but I am excited to hear that you can now pay with your cryptos as well.

Thank you! Looking at your profile, it appears you took a bit of a hiatus from Steemit, so welcome back! Since it appears you love the shiny stuff, click on the tag steemsilvergold above. There are a lot of like minded folks out here who love silver, gold, and even a bit of platinum! We always that as the tag.

Good to know it's all resolved and you got some metal comin soon!

Coinbase sucks for outgoing transactions when it's even a little busy. When I bought from silvergoldbull I sent the LTC from bittrex and it was confirmed within 4-5 minutes.

On the same strain of coinbase being slower than molasses in January... I sent Bitcoin to a bitpay wallet from bittrex and coinbase. Sent within 1-2 minutes of each other. The BTC from bittrex showed up within 10 minutes or so... The BTC from coinbase didn't show up until 12 hours later AND their network fee was higher... Coinbase sucks other than to buy with fiat... For anything time sensitive they're trash.

I'm a complete crypto newb. Coinbase is the only one I've really used.

Oh yea man, I know how it goes, just meant it wasn't your fault or silvergoldbull or probably even the litecoin network... Just coinbase doing coinbase things. I had the samething happen a few months ago with Apmex...

But the good news is you have PMs on the way!

Congrats mate it should be worth the stress, you can relax now, sip on a lemsip and wait for the booty :-)

You're turning into a pirate! Is this @thedamus in disguise?!? 😁

im a cornish wrecker but there dont be much difference!

I had the same thing happen with Ampex and Bitcoin. Glad you got your coins.

Thanks! I don't have them yet, but at least I believe I'll get them now!

Thanks for the warning, I'll have to keep that one in mind if I ever get around to spending any of my cryptos.

I did my first order with them yesterday. I used my ledger to send the crypto and will do that in the future also as I hit my maximum on my binance account.

I think I will trade the amount I want to buy in LTC or Dash first as the fees were crazy.

Next time I will know better

You have received an upvote from STAX. Thanks for being a member of the #steemsilvergold community and opting in (if you wish to be removed please follow the link). Please continue to support each other in this great community. To learn more about the #steemsilvergold community and STAX, check this out.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63315.23
ETH 2545.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67