Damn You, APMEX! The Ever So Short Story of the Australian Emu Coin!

in #steemsilvergold7 years ago (edited)

Golden greetings and silver salutations! This morning I saw a post by an Aussie, @plumey. He brought up that the Perth Mint would be releasing a new silver coin this year, this one with an emu on it. Sweet! (if you want to read his post, go here ...and you should probably follow him too!)

So from his page, I headed to APMEX. Why APMEX, because they had the Swan last year (more to follow). Sure enough, there it was on their site.

Emu.jpg

Source Image Here

They had not put it on sale yet. Well at work, I listen to a lot of You-Tube videos. I subscribe to the channel of @silverwolverine (you should follow him too). He put out a video about this coin. Cool, another source. Then, Losing Louie (are you following him on You-Tube) posted about it. He displays his screen showing that they are now on sale for about $32. That is a bit high, but I headed over to APMEX's site anyways... the price $36.77! So they jacked up the cost about $4 in under an hour.

Is that the end...nope! I read the comments. @silverwolverine got some at $28. $28! They jacked up the price almost $10 in probably under 2 hours. Then...they sold out! Uggggh!

To their credit, APMEX did respond to another one of my favorite You-Tubers, Salivate Metal (he's the last one I'll tell you to follow today). Here is a screen capture of their response:

Apmex Response.JPG

Watch the video and see APMEX's response here

I will also say that in general, I am a fan of APMEX and this really won't stop me from purchasing in the future. It was just frustrating. Especially since my story from the swan was almost identical! I saw it on APMEX, but after the price was jacked up. I decided against paying that premium last year...I said no again this year.

So, will I regret not buying them at almost $37? Who knows. I will say these have a slightly higher mintage than the swan, so they may be less popular (25k vs. 30k).

Now I have properly vented and I am back on the hunt for the next great coin! Until next time, keep stacking and supporting #SteemSilverGold, #SteemUSA, and #TheAlliance!

Alliance1.jpg

Steem USA Footer.png

Sort:  

Though sought after... that is an ugly-ass coin! I’ll pass on the primo for this one.

That sure isn't the prettiest bird...but I still wanted one...

I want one too lol!!!

ROFLMAO It is isnt it?? hahahah I still want one just for the sake of collecting it
#stacker

^this

That’s frustrating but just keep on keepin on. I like Salivate Metal too, is he on Steemit? If not we should encourage him to join.

@salivatemetal was here, but he stopped using Steemit. I hope he comes back sometime.

I like that design. I think i might try to pick one up. I buy from bullion from Apmex. S.d bullion for most of my premium rounds.

They are out of stock, so the next time they carry them, who knows what they will want for a coin.

Losing Louis just melted a 100 OZ silver bar into ......small bars. I say he is loosing it. :)

I saw the video where he unboxed it. I hope it's not already melted.

And now I see that it is already melted!

IMO APMEX killed the round. But Perth chose to let them have an exclusive. It's not a bad looking coin. I would have liked one.

I would have liked a few, but APMEX can do whatever it likes when there is no competition.

That is a pretty penny. Have to say I'm out too

I think I would have been out at $32, even if I could have bought some. I would have been in at $28.

This post has received gratitude of 2.11 % from @appreciator thanks to: @mikeshuh.

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

I was so tempted to pull the trigger on this as well, but chose to get in on the pre-sale for the 2017 Cheonwang Proof. Hopefully, it doesn't disappoint (I'm pretty sure it won't)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60808.14
ETH 2392.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63