A New Canadian Silver Coin! Will it Milk Spot?

in #steemsilvergold7 years ago

Golden greetings and silver salutations! My #SteemSilverGold friends. I have a dilemma...and once I explain, you may have one too.

As a rule, I try to avoid coins from the Royal Canadian Mint. I like how they look, but they so commonly get milk spots. They just came out with a coin which I would consider a no brainer, if it wasn't minted by them.

Modern Coin Mart is offering a 30th Anniversary Maple Leaf with an incused Maple Leaf. If I buy 5 and send in a check, they would be $21.47 a piece. They have a mintage of 250,000. I am not aware of any other dealers selling this one.

If you don't know what an incused design is, it means the Maple Leaf is struck into the coin. In terms of belly buttons, this coin is an innie in a world of outies.

Here is what it looks like:

incused maple.jpg

Photo Source: Photo from Modern Coin Mart

You can also find the listing here: https://www.moderncoinmart.com/2018-canada-1-oz-silver-maple-leaf-incuse-5-coin-gem-bu.html

I'm really on the fence. I don't want 5 of them as that makes me too nervous. Maybe this special way of minting the coins will prevent them from spotting. I just don't know. What do you think? Anyone buying this one?

Have a great night! Keep stacking and supporting #SteemSilverGold and #TheAlliance!

TL:DR - Is this coin going to milk spot or not?!?

Alliance1.jpg

Sort:  

Milk spots are a pain for sure. I bought some maples at a coinshow and they came shrink-wrapped in plastic directly from the mint.

I bet it was like an 88 or an 89. I commonly see those in plastic. My LCS used to periodically sell them for the same price as a current year. They NEVER seemed to spot and I would buy them any time I could.

Just remember the shady milkman doesn't discriminate....but loves canadian coins.

A Shady Milkman reference! It's been years since either one of us dropped one of those!

I really like Silver as you know, but since I have been stacking for many years I tend to not buy the Canadian Silver Coins just because of the notorious Spotting Problem. Got Milk ?? If you do then send you spotted coins to the Metals Mafia and have the Don make you a Nice Pouted Bar.....@pit-bullion

Mike (@pit-bullion) does some cool stuff, that's for sure!

Cool coin for sure. I’ve stay away from maple leafs because of the milk spots. But these new designs might been inproved.

I am hoping the special design caused them to need to do a different (better) QA process.

I'd take the gamble, personally. But unfortunately, that's what it is, a gamble.

I am not sure if I feel lucky...

I haven't had any spot "knock on wood" and I own quite a few different Maple leafs. Now I have a crappy darkening on some of the edges of my maples(2 of them). I do put most of my coins in capsules maybe that helps?

You are quite lucky. I pulled a couple out of air-tites two days ago, because they spotted in cases. I have a NGC graded Olympic Maple Leaf that spotted in its case. The only ones that don't seem to spot are the originals.

Don't see why it wouldn't just because the design is incuse, it's still silver so there's a chance. RCM gets a bad name for the spots but I've seen it on many coins from allover the world. That being said I'll buy one for sure

I knew you would, GA ☺

You got a 3.45% upvote from @minnowvotes thanks to @mikeshuh!

You have received an upvote from STAX. Thanks for being a member of the #steemsilvergold community and opting in (if you wish to be removed please follow the link). Please continue to support each other in this great community. To learn more about the #steemsilvergold community and STAX, check this out.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62676.37
ETH 2581.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72