Going Big (at least for me) at the LCS

in #steemsilvergold6 years ago

I mentioned recently that my LCS has been pretty picked over lately. Sometimes they've even been completely out of generic silver. I've slowed down on my silver purchases at the LCS, because nothing too interesting has been available.

So it was with pretty low expectations that I visited today. However, I walked in and saw that the generic bin was well stocked with things like this.

IMG_20180905_190838104~2.jpg

There were probably five like this and six 10 oz SilverTowne bars, along with some assorted 1 oz rounds. Apparently an older gentleman came in and said "I bought all this stuff in the 70's, and I don't want it anymore. What can I get for it?". The coin shop bought all of it.

This is exactly the kind of thing I've been waiting for. It's my first 10 oz, and my first National Refiners Assayers piece. I couldn't be happier with my purchase.

IMG_20180905_205323544~3.jpg

The back edges seem to have been rounded off, I'm assuming to hit the weight more precisely.

IMG_20180905_190917314~2.jpg

I've tried to do a little searching for info about this company, mintages, and serials, but have come up largely empty. I assumed there would be a database online akin to allengelhard.com for these bars, but I'm finding nothing. Does anyone know of a resource or have any info about this bar? They don't seem to go for a huge premium, so maybe there's just not too much of a collector market out there? Or maybe they're very plentiful?

I've never seen one in my shop before, so I thought I better grab it while I could. Now I'm trying to see if I can scrape together enough spare cash to grab another one before they're gone.

Sort:  

@methus You SCORED on the 10 Oz. National Refiners Silver Bar. The Reason I say that is because I don't Own One. To be Very Honest I don't think I have seen the National Refiners Silver Bars except in the 1 Oz. Size......
Very Nice Pick-Up !

If you've not seen one of these in 10 oz, that's saying something. I know you've had a lot of precious metals pass through your hands and in front of your eyes. Like I said I was surprised I couldn't really find a lot of info about it.

An excellent find, @methus! Congrats!

Thanks. I'm quite happy with it.

That's a nice ten ounce bar. I've seen National but I don't have one. Congrats!

Thanks. It was the first time I'd seen any National stuff at my LCS.

That is one sexy toner bar buddy! Nice buy. And congrats on your first 10 ozer! I bet it won't be the last!!!

Thanks. I'm already plotting to get my next one.

@methus I have seen National refining bar's before. Have to say this one with the serial number and Canadian maple leaf on the side stands out a bit. Some great looking toning. I would guess your going to have a tough time finding info on this but I'll reach out to a few people. Congrats on the addition. Certainly worth the wait...

Thanks. I'm very interested to see what you hear back, if anything. Do you think it'll be a tough time because there's not a lot of people that collect them?

There just isn't a ton of information out there on the smaller unique refiners. I may be tough to find info on this one. I will follow up either way!

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

That is a SWEEET bar. I'll poke around and see if I can find anything for you. I have a couple of the newer 10oz, but none of this vintage.

Thanks, I was psyched to find it. Let me know if you come up with anything.

A very good deal. I have no 10oz bar and my eyes were happy seeing this one.

No 10 oz? One way to fix that. :P

Congratulations @methus! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest³ - SteemitBoard support the Travel Reimbursement Fund.

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 61940.19
ETH 2433.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50