DIY silver toning with egg experiment.

in #steemsilvergold6 years ago (edited)

So I took a 25 gram Plata Muerta hand pour that I had been playing around with, post it in gardens and such. https://steemit.com/steemsilvergold/@meepsy/succulents-and-silver I thought to myself as I saw a video of toning silver with eggs that it would be a perfect experiment. We all have those great coins that tone bad well just tone them more.

IMG_2029.JPG

The first thing I did was hard boil an egg, 6 in fact but the other 5 were for eating. I did a very short or minor cool down so the egg was still warm. Peeled it mashed it up and put into a cheap plastic container. Picture is of the round after 1 hour not to bad.

IMG_2030.JPG

At the two hour mark still darkening but slowing down. I mash up the egg a little more and let it sit for a few more hours.

IMG_2033.JPG

So after close to 4 hours I'm ready to pull it out and play with it. With my crappy Chinese dremel kit I grabbed a buffer pad and went to work.

IMG_2034.JPG

IMG_2037.JPG

And that is how you put an egg on it silver style kinda fun really. hope you enjoyed this post and always remember that there is something great around the corner.

IMG_2038.JPG

Tails we win.

Sort:  

You have received an upvote from STAX. Thanks for being a member of the #steemsilvergold community and opting in (if you wish to be removed please follow the link). Please continue to support each other in this great community. To learn more about the #steemsilvergold community and STAX, check this out.

WOW thats really kool!
I never knew.
could you put wax over the areas you dont want to tarnish?
Neat idea, might have to try.
:D

Yeah that's a great idea.

Cool experiment!! Looks good in the pictures what do you think would you do it again? Does this change the value of the piece at all upvoted and following

I am looking at a few of my older coins that didn't age well and say yes I will do it again and I like the result did it add value well that is in the eye of the beholder.

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly – Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Congratulations @meepsy! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

This post has received a 7.56 % upvote from @kittybot thanks to: @meepsy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65560.09
ETH 3467.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68