Stackitis - A Fake $100 Bill - A Lost Customer for Life

in #steemsilvergold7 years ago (edited)

So this week has already been a long one...and around 4:30 this afternoon, I started to get the shakes and I just happened to be at a meeting that was close to a LCS.

The room started to spin and I felt faint. I started to black out but as luck would have it, I was able to hold it together. I got out of there as soon as I could and headed on over. Before I knew it, I dumped a bit of Fiat from some extra Steem and I had about 20 oz of silver bars to add to my stack along with a few 6 pence for a project later.

IMG_2725.jpg

After the sale was completed, the proprietor of said LCS asked me "Have you heard from the bank yet on that $100 bill?" Now I have to be honest, I had totally forgot why I hadn't been to this particular shop in a few months. A true sign my Stackitis was worse than I thought....man it must be a bad case.

It seems that in all of the hustle of my job, the mad swings in my crypto portfolio and just generally being busy, I had forgotten about that little incident.

You see, a few months back, I sold off some Gold coins and upgraded them to Silver bars and he gave me some fiat change. I went to deposit it into my Credit Union and lo and behold, there was a fake $100 bill in my deposit. Now he claims it wasn't fake, but my Credit Union and later the inspector at the Federal Reserve determined it to be counterfeit. Oh the irony. The Federal Reserve determining my fake bill to not be quite fake enough...

IMG_1958.jpg

Once I handed it to them, they wouldn't let me take it back or even touch it, but I did manage to snap a picture of it before they put it in an envelope and off it went. They were handling it like it was radioactive. It passed the marker test, but the paper was bleached where it was creased and numbers were wearing off. It even had the security strip running through it. The North Koreans really know how to make some fakes. They told me there were a few that they had found over the months.

Now I don't blame the guy at my LCS for not spotting it, but I do blame him for not making it right after I told him about it. Even months later not making it right. To me its an issue of trust and just the right thing to do. I've done a lot of business with him over the years and he stuck me with a bad piece of paper and didn't even offer to make it right. To make it worse, about 2 years ago, I bought some Silver and Gold from him one Saturday morning and then I got my hair cut. While I was sitting there getting my hair cut, I realized he under charged me by $80. I went back and made it right without hesitation after my cut.

Smooth move buddy...I'm never dealing with you again. How appropriate the bars are from Wall Street Mint to make me feel even more fucked over than I otherwise would feel.

Damn, is it Friday yet?

@matthewwarn

DQmZr15ypNrceRJ7qxzHY3zkz9GkDYoGvgNhieh79HT8ZDu.png

Sort:  

Dang, sorry about that man. Fake bills are pretty crappy...some people just don't care.

Some nice silver you have there. At least you know that isn't fake.

Good post for awareness, you can never be too careful. Thanks.

Silver is much harder to fake, true that. That's why they've taken it out of the monetary system.

That does stink. It is amazing how people have forgotten how to treat customers. Back in the day you would have been refunded on the spot but today customer service is no where to be found.

I would like to think this was the exception and not the rule.

That really sucks.....he should have made good on the bill, that’s real bad business. Sorry brother.

Yes, he should have.

so have you got a letter from the bank saying it was fake? if you show him that then surely he would make it right?

I requested documentation, they told me they were not under any obligation to provide me with anything. I feel like I got robbed twice. I asked them how often they send in the bills that they were wrong and credited a customers account. They said that has never happened at that branch.

In that case I would phone the police because you got robbed

@matthewwarn I do like those WALL STREET Mint Bars. Since I was a licensed Stockbroker in the Den of Thieves. I really like the fact that I am not in the Financial Industry anymore. I now don't need to Shower 4 or 5 times a day to wash the SLIME off me...............

They are pretty cool. I looked them up on Ebay and they actually go for a premium over a standard bar so I guess I have that going for me.

That's a rough go with the hundo! On the bright side those wall street mint bars are deadly! And you may be able to recover that $100 on eBay with the premiums on those beauties!

Maybe someday I will...but they are my first, so I'm planning on HODLing them for now

You got a 38.49% upvote from @redlambo courtesy of @matthewwarn! Make sure to use tag #redlambo to be considered for the curation post!

You have received an upvote from STAX. Thanks for being a member of the #steemsilvergold community and opting in (if you wish to be removed please follow the link). Please continue to support each other in this great community. To learn more about the #steemsilvergold community and STAX, check this out.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63525.38
ETH 2645.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76