Silver in my First Aid Kit – “Topical: For External Use Only”

in #steemsilvergold5 years ago (edited)

1 C

As a nurse, you can expect that my Basic First Aid kit to be much more than your average Off-the-Shelf Walmart type kit. However I have never worked a Trauma or Emergency unit even for training reasons as those are reserved for the most experienced, talented and most determined in this challenging and exciting field.

1

No I'm into calm predictable routine into delivering daily care with the occasional twist like Wound Care. My skill set does have the basic procedures instilled in my practice and I'd always jump into the chance to use them. 🚧 Warning: use of clinical language ahead. Silver has been known since the 19th century as a antimicrobial agent well before the development of antibiotics. And with the push back against the over use of antibiotics of late Silver had come back as the treatment of choice in treatment against infections.

For instance the use of Silver in Silver flatware, tea service, vessels, food handling and display service, has been a proven practiced for generations for its prevention of food borne illness. The placing of a silver coin in with drinking water or milk tends to help preserve the quality of these consumables by the pioneers during a long journey. Even as far back as the ancient Phoenicians over the millennia earlier used silver preserve drink potency much longer before spoiling.

So how does it work? Here’s a quote from Podiatry Today November 2004 by Lawrence Karlock on Dr. Ovington’s comments, the President of Ovington & Associates, Inc., a wound care consulting company in Allentown, Pa.

In particular, the silver cation Ag+ is a “very potent antimicrobial agent because it can attack and damage bacterial cells at multiple sites,” notes Dr. Ovington. She explains that it attaches to specific chemical groups (thiol groups containing sulfur and hydrogen) found on a wide variety of proteins that play structural and functional roles in the bacterial cell. Once Ag+ attaches to these sites, Dr. Ovington says the cation causes structural and functional changes in the cell. For example, she notes that when Ag+ binds to proteins in the cell membrane, the cell wall can rupture and leak, resulting in the death of the bacterial cell.

I won't post the yucky pictures but there has been the practice of using 1-2% Silver Nitrate solution for the treatment of serious post-surgical high infection risk wounds complicated by a persistent infectious agent, often MRSA or others that are resilient to most topical and oral antibiotics. This was in practice well before silver therapies began to appear as over the counter home treatment solutions.

After dressing removal, assessment for inflammation, swelling, character of exuldates and odors the silver solution used is topically applied following cleaning and debridement. Typically dressing changes are twice daily as a minimum depending on dressing integrity due to the rate of serous drainage and severity of the trauma site.

Already silver based surface coatings in hospital settings have been proposed and implemented for use in hospital environments like surgical equipment, knobs, buttons, switches, counter surfaces, hand rails, any surfaces where hands routinely come into contact with to prevent the transmission of infectious agents from person to person. We can certainly see the applications would continue into other areas like restaurants and food services industries and extended even into our own homes.

1

It's cool to finally see silver based treatments coming available in the public albeit likely in lower strengths but still effective enough for minor cases. But this also validates what many Stackers and Naturalpaths have known all along. The therapeutic value of silver in health care practice will be priceless. While there has been a growing variety of silver based wound treatment products available for years in the Professional clinics and offices like Acticoat, Silvercel, Aquacel Ag or Contreet F but were seeing more over the counter versions are trickling out and are becoming more available to the public.

I’m not promoting this particular product but it represents a ‘new’ generation of wound treatment finally available in the market of which it’s foundation had been already laid and practiced by our ancestors in the past.

This is just a recent add to my home First Aid kit and may be a good option for your Kit or ‘Bug Out’ bag too for all you Preppers, Survivalists, especially in applications where clean water is not readily available for immediate first aid.

R

If you are having problems dealing in coping with Stacking symptoms, side effects, or negative outcomes my clinic door will be open.

"Because the loss of a Stacker as a loss to all of us."

Kerris L Ravenhill
Steemit Public Health Intake Studies Division: HCW II, N.P.N, D.T.Dip , Bu.S.H.I.T PMAS Stackitis Study Group
🚑 💉 For the Health of the Stacking Community 🚒 💊

1, My own photos/pictures taken with a HuaweiKII-L05 Smartphone
W Wiki Commons
R Clip art vectors from 123RF
C. Free clipart from Openclipart

R

Bibliography

Why Silver makes the best Silverware
http://www.sellgoldhq.com/why-silver-makes-the-best-silverware/

What You Should Know About Using Silver Products in Wound Care, By Lawrence Karlock, DPM
https://www.podiatrytoday.com/article/3156

Silver-coated polymeric substrate for the management of chronic ulcerations, from The National Center for Biotechnology Information
https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/18981754

A review of the evidence for the use of topical antimicrobial agents in wound care, by Rose Cooper
http://www.worldwidewounds.com/2004/february/Cooper/Topical-Antimicrobial-Agents.html

I work in a Health Unit. I am a Gothic Nurse. - Salutem laboro in Unit. Nonne ego sum Antiqua.

Sort:  

You are a nurse? That's pretty cool! My mum is also one, she does ICU/CCU stuff... Never talks about it though...

Yes I've been a Nurse for over 14 years in a Chronic Care unit working Primarily the Night Shifts now. A very nice career choice for me and located not too far from my home is a bonus. Usually it best to keep work at work as the best policy in respect to privacy policy and personal feelings regarding Staff and patients. The subject of Silver in Healthcare practice was something I wanted to share.

Super cool article, sis @kerrislravenhill!!! Very nice.

Been thinking of writing this for a while and dig into the actual theory, so stack a few of these type of products with your first aid kit.

I shall, sis. LOL!

A few years back I got a pretty nasty cut from a drain pipe in a kitchen. I clraned the hell out of it but it kept pussing. I taped a silver round over it for an entire day and no more puss. I cleaned it and taped the silver back on in a few days it was totally healed.

Bingo, I though there would be someone with that experience! Why I kept a few one-tenth sized silver rounds with my kit for that reason before I got this Banda-Sil wound treatment. The silver rounds will go back to my hiding place as a backup. On the West coast we're expecting the BIG ONE, earthquake. No doubt water utilities will be cut off too. Prevention of Infections and disease from any injuries becomes critical.

Great Post... Here's some Flowers for your Viewing Pleasure...

June 26, 2019...

How nice of you for these lovely flowers, I don't thiink anyone else has given me flowers as a Comment.

You did mention, wanting to see more photos, taken in my Garden...

Yes, my soul may be black as night but I still love flowers.

That's neat stuff. Next time I'm in a hospital(hopefully not for a while) I'm going to be telling them to put the silver on me!

Posted using Partiko Android

I don't remember where I read it but 0.9999 is considered Medical Grade and 0.999+ may be adequate since other micro amounts of other metal(contaminants) can have potentially toxic effects whereas silver can be tolerated as high up as to 0.5 ppB. And has it's own basket of issues in toxicity.

Sounds like a great 80s parody! Pour some silver on me!!

Posted using Partiko Android

Well written my pirate sister! I have often been amazed at How much old knowledge is just disregarded when it had decades if not untold years of proven value!
Side note the antibacterial properties of silver are believed to be the root of a silver bullet killing a werewolf.
Thanks for sharing!!

Posted using Partiko Android

Werewolves would depend on which Hollywood canon you follow based on the origins one would follow. Werewolf based on a mutant Alien like infection or the genetically superior breed of apex predator created by a misguided scientist or changed by an evil demonic entity. The first is especially susceptible and vulnerable to silver as the others are generally in the same. If its all the same to you, best way to kill s pack of werewolves is a Barrette sniper rifle using a silver 50cal round, head shot the Alpha first because you can't get close to them without them smelling you coming . I'd follow up and Use a silver Bowie knife to finish it off in case it maybe still alive and cut out the silver round while I'm at it.

@kerrislravenhill sometimes it's the little things that make a job fun.

Posted using Partiko Android

You can tell that The Bloody Raven had done this kind of thing before. (Insert Fore Shadowing Incidental music here)

I always LOVE Great Info about SILVER Like This. We Know That Silver is RARE and the Rest of The World is Going to Wake Up to it Also @kerrislravenhill........

Thank you @stokjockey
Stackitis caseloads seems a little light lately so I did this little informative article.

Interesting stuff. I had no idea about the use of silver for such things. It's always fun to learn new things. Thanks for sharing!

While silver use in photography is being phased out it finds a new renaissance in Health care. Sometimes the old fashioned ideals can be the best ideals.

Thank you kerrislravenhill! You've just received an upvote of 97% by thejollyroger!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your posts



Please come visit me to see my daily report detailing my current upvote power and how much I'm currently upvoting.

Arrrh, always a pleasure to see thee ole Jolly!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56766.86
ETH 2492.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36