Stackers: Question and Reward about Coin Statistics

in #steemsilvergold6 years ago (edited)

How many Kennedy [edit] half dollar coins were minted in 1964? [hint: it is a lot.]

Here are some. Great for "stacking".
IMG_20180329_211835.jpg

Nearest solution will be rewarded with the equivalent SBD of one of these bad boys. A token of gratitude for the intellectual effort. Stacking steem and silver both are wise decisions.


Transparency and Disclosure:

This post was edited and all pre-edit contestants will receive a reward for their participation. The question was faulty and ambiguous.

I own coins pictured. I would reward you with one coin but the transaction fees in shipping metal raise the cost when cryptographic assets are in fact better suited to internet forum interactions. Still stack metal and steem on.

Sort:  

Kennedy '64s are my favorite "junk" coins to collect,. They barely saw circulation and all are practically in mint condition.

Your question is impossible to be answered because of the definition of junk silver. Junk silver is a coin that is sold with minimum premium over the spot. That eliminates all the Flowing Hair, Draped Bust, Capped Bust, Liberty Seated and Barber half dollars. Some of the Walking Liberty are worth more than spot even in F4. So, a precise number of junk silver minted before 1965 is impossible to tell .

Thank you @ronaldovelino for pointing out. [The power of steemit communities - Ronaldo is a very knowledgeable source about coin collecting.] Next time I will be more specific. I would like to know how many half dollars with JFK on the face. So that makes things easier. One year - 1964 roughly how many do you think are circulating nowadays?

In 1964 429,509,450 were minted, but it is impossible to know how many survived till today due to massive melts during the Hunt Brothers Affair (around 1980) when silver almost reached $50 an ounce.

273 milion minted only in philadelphia my dear brother.

This is what I found as well. Thank you for sharing.

You are most welcome. We should gain khowlegde because we are human. We need to do something for our life and also for our family.

Thank you for your comments on the other posts as well. I followed you and look forward to more of your input and learning from each other in the future.

you are welcome. thanks for following me. we can learn something from each other it's the way to learn.

This resource states 273 million minted - but only at Philadelphia. If that is true it is pretty interesting. https://www.ngccoin.com/price-guide/series-detail.aspx?MVDetailID=11&Series=Kennedy-Half-Dollar

And thank you for bringing up the Hunt Brothers. Very interesting story.

156,205,446 coins were minted in Denver.

Oh good to know. Thank you for sharing knowledge.

Thanks for the information. I didnot know but just learned from u.

Great topic ... must dig up few i have in storage. It is really common in UK now, and few i know that check their change diligently do get nice surprises. Some £1 coin editions are worth hundreds and still in normal circulation!

Approx 949,400,000 half dollars in silver minted for circulation

949.4 million

Thank you for your participation, please look for a token of our appreciation to your steem address this week.

This is for every type of 90% silver dollar produced for ciculatiom

My answer is 1,782,803,760 total Half Dollar (Junk Silver) Coins were Minted before 1965...
One Billion, Seven Hundred, Eighty-Two Million, Eight Hundred and Three Thousand, Seven Hundred and Sixty...

Note: When you said "Junk Silver" I took that to mean all 90% Silver Half Dollar Coins...

Thanks for the note. A fellow commenter mentioned the ambiguity as well. Narrowed the question to Kennedy half dollars (completely my mistake for the vague question). Please look forward to a token of my appreciation of your engagement at your steem addy this week.

Your thanks have been received and welcomed... I added a great new post today... A new "APP" for the Smart Phone... I have a feeling you might be interested in what I have to say...

I see your post. But not a link to an application. I do like your content though and and support "debt-free money" as you say.

The reason there's no link to the application, is because it only crossed my mind yesterday... I'm somewhat of an original thinker... I'm not sure if it's a Blessing or a Curse...

They were minted 190,892,355, I think. Thanks for your post.

this answer is just for your education purpose: your thinking was good but right answer is here brother. 1,782,803,760 total Half Dollar. Coins were Minted before 1965. 😊😊

After I am done with my BTS stacking, I will put some profits in silver...

Good question but I think it is impossible to answer because, Junk silver is a coin that is sold with minimum premium over the spot.. 90% people will be fail to answer.

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Kennedy just shows the trend and virtually all mint condition is virtually in place. Still they like it. They love you more than them. Thank you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 66930.79
ETH 3268.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64