Jbcoin's Silver Eggsperiment @goldmatters Egg vs Silver Fun

in #steemsilvergold6 years ago (edited)

Ok, so @goldmatters has been messing up some perfectly good Silver Eagles to prove that silver is not as good as Mene 24K Gold for jewelry.

I would tend to agree with him, after seeing how quickly a hard boiled egg toned his uncirculated ASE!

You can read that post here...pretty fascinating stuff!

https://steemit.com/mene24k/@goldmatters/why-we-use-24-karat-gold-instead-of-silver-for-jewelry

Next, he tried an experiment, where you blacken an egg over a candle flame, then immerse it in water. It should turn the egg silver.

Well, to make a long story short, @goldmatters egg failed to meet eggspectations!

He challenged me to try it myself tonight, so off I went!

20180411_195822.jpg

Needed Material:

Hard Cider (for the chemist)
Small Mug (for the cider)
Large Mug (for the water)
Candle (lol for the flame)
Lighter (you get the picture)
1 Egg
Tongs

20180411_200024.jpg

Hold the egg with the tongs, above the candle flame. The goal is to cover it with soot, not cook it!

It's eggspecially hard, because the tongs leave a white mark behind. Reposition the egg carefully, to get all of the areas black, without removing the soot in the good looking, smooth black areas.

20180411_200912.jpg

The Moment of Truth..Drop It In The Water 😮😮😮😢😢😥

20180411_200606.jpg

20180411_200756.jpg

20180411_200645.jpg

20180411_200833.jpg

Right away, the black soot started to turn silver in some areas, like mercury glass, but others stayed dark. Some areas were kind of in between, but hard to photograph. Almost a greenish silver, sort of translucent and shimmery!

But then, suddenly....without warning...I notice a Silver Drip?? What?

Some kind of weird silver drip on the TOP of the egg...dripping upward, like it was going to break away. This my friends, was not in the instruction manual.

20180411_201127.jpg

I grabbed my camera, feeling like I had just seen a freakin' UFO and it was gonna be gone before I could snap a clear pic!

20180411_201232.jpg
20180411_201308.jpg

Jbcoin nailed it. My Bigfoot moment!

20180411_201157.jpg

I took a long drink of hard cider and tried to decide what I had just discovered? I was shaking.

Was it a silver nipple? Had I just discovered the liquid cure for Stackitus? Or does soot contain oxygen and wants to form a bubble and rise upward, since it is becoming a liquid?

Silver Nipples It Is - WooHoo!!

I was so Eggcited to have my egg turn somewhat silver, that I was willing to call it a day!

The only thing left to do is to wash the soot off this egg and see what remains. Did I cook it over the flame?

20180411_201559.jpg

Yep, a little dingy still. I think putting it back into the carton and pretending to be innocent won't fly with Mrs @jbcoin. Great! I'm screwed.

Only one thing to do. Hide the evidence!

20180411_202011.jpg

Still looks pretty good to me! Looks like the barn cats will be having a late night snack!

20180411_202033.jpg

Take a break from the field mice guys, tonight we're having candle light eggs!

20180411_202145.jpg

All in all, I would say that this turned out pretty well! From my research, I think that you would want to use raw eggs, not boiled?

Thanks @goldmatters for a fun and eggucational eggsperience for my daughter and I tonight! She really enjoyed it!

I hope that you enjoyed reading, please give this experiment a try! I'd be interested in seeing everyone's results!

Please upvote, Resteem, and tell your friends about the silver nipples!

U5dr61qgo3LQQKgjUH2XXMso4x6Xd7a_1680x8400.png

Sort:  

Ha ha !! Outstanding!!! Thank god @jbcoin came around to show us how its done:) I love it

Haha! Who even knew about silver eggs, until now? You find every angle out there @goldmatters! Well done.

Thanks for Eggsecuting !!

Eggceptional idea!

Look at you guys just egging each other on...!
🤣🤣🤣

Awww...it ain't that bad. You're just Eggsaggerating lmao

That is super neat jb! Glad it worked for you!

Thank you @armshippie! It was the nudge from @goldmatters that made me try it! Fun stuff😁

Fun experiment and nice silver nipple

Eggstanding! Yep, make sure to hide the evidence!

Great post. Nice job getting a shot of the nipple. 😂
Lucky cat. 👍🏻

Lmao...you know that you were thinkin it before I even wrote it @mr-vulcan! Haha

Cool, silver nipples. Haha!

An interesting eggperiment though. . .

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

A liquid cure for stackitus....that made me laugh. Great story with so much eggcitement. Thanks for sharing.

Thanks for reading @vgholdingsllc! I was afraid to taste "the cure" lol.

You have been defended with a 100.00% upvote!
I was summoned by @jbcoin.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60935.93
ETH 2645.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56