I Wonder What She Would Have Been Like

in #steemsilvergold7 years ago (edited)

I wonder what she would have been like, that daughter I never met.

We hoped, and planned, and sold, to make the surgery a success.

I was young then, too young to know that sometimes plans fail.

To me a heartbeat, and a kick was all the confirmation that a young Dad required.

Months of planning, and painting, and shopping all done.

Baby's not moving much, probably nothing at all.

Trip to the hospital to be sent home to wait. We aren't hearing a heartbeat.

The delivery was scheduled as if nothing was wrong.

We held her her for a moment, together and strong.

15172079683141766781657.jpg

Her features were perfect, and for a little while we forgot.

We visit now, much less than we did. Time moves on.

I wonder tonight though, what my girl would be like now, at twenty-three?

To know that happiness of an entire lifetime missed.

Sort:  

Our entire community and their hearts go out to you, thank you for sharing this story of hope as all life is precious, even for the short time that you felt this moment. This gave me time to reflect on all of Earth's children.......

I am sorry for your loss, knowing the passage of years can't really heal all the pain. I lost my daughter 2 1/2 years ago when she was 24. It doesn't hurt as bad now, but I know it will always hurt. And, like you, I'll always wonder what she would be like now.

Thank you @dullhawk. I am sorry for your loss as well. Time does help, but its also good to stop sometimes and remember, and talk.

Yep. Don't ever forget, and don't ever let anyone make you feel guilty for remembering and talking about her.

Very moving, I'm sorry for your loss.
c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance

Thank you @c0ff33a! I appreciate it.

Your girl would have had great parents I am sure.

Thanks @goldrooster. I appreciate the kind words.

Wow, very touching @jbcoin and thank you for sharing this story.

Those word are so touching. So sorry for your loss. I'm sure she would have been wonderful!

I think that you are right.

You have received an upvote from STAX. Thanks for being a member of the #steemsilvergold community and opting in (if you wish to be removed please follow the link). Please continue to support each other in this great community. To learn more about the #steemsilvergold community and STAX, check this out.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58131.27
ETH 2360.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38