[Silver Search] The Search for Lawful Money

in #steemsilvergold6 years ago (edited)

Every so often, we search a box of Half Dollars

We call it "The search for Lawful Money".

No state shall...coin money, emit bills of credit, make any thing but gold and silver a tender in payment of debts... Article I, section 10 The Constitution of the United States

So, we are searching for lawful money: anything containing silver for the payments of debts. We are looking for any half dollars that was minted in 1970 or earlier. 1965 - 1970 are 40% silver, 1964 or earlier are 90% silver.


The box was ripped and taped shut. I wonder if someone had searched these already.


Rolls look intact.


Some of the rolls have the top coin marked with a sharpie... hmm. This box may have been cleaned out already.


Having fun going through the rolls.


The girls like playing with the coin rolls. Don't let them fall off the table!


All of these are dross, haven't found anything yet. No silver.

So did we find anything?

I added our finds in the last stack. See if you can figure out how many silver coins we found from these photos?

Leave your guesses in the comments below.

Update:

I made a follow-up post on the silver in this stack:

https://steemit.com/steemsilvergold/@ironshield/silver-search-the-search-for-lawful-money-part-2

Benjamin Turner: God fearer. Rooted in Messiah. Husband of @lturner. Father of four wonderful children. The guy behind the camera. Steemit enthusiast.

Bless the Most High!

Sort:  

At first glance, I saw 5 in the bottom picture.
Then I read the comment section, and you said 5 was getting close.
Now I've clicked to view the image in full screen. I can see the same 5, but there's another one (7th from the left) that MIGHT be silver.
I dunno, I'm Canadian, I don't see your coins often. But I can usually spot silver. : P
Note: I think I see a coin without edge reeding, 2nd from the right?
Thanks for the cool post! I love real money!

A lot of hints in the comment section for sure! The difference between the silver and the dross is astounding. The look, feel, sound and even smell different. @ironshield

Maybe it just one silver coin you have there, Nice and amazing kids you have their and they are all happy playing and rolling with their dad. I love that @ironshield

Good guess! Happily, we found more than one silver coin. @ironshield

Am still counting though, then it is four silver coins. Am I right?

Look closer...

It’s a 7 silver coins, my eyes aches but I wanna guess this right. It’s a 7

It's difficult to see, just by looking at the side. It's not seven. Everyone is shooting around the target! :-) @ironshield

Well I fink they are all silver coins then, two faced coins. that’s 20

Thank you for straining your eyes to figure this out! I admire your diligence for sure! There are six silver coins that I found after searching through 1000. That's 0.6% silver.

Ahh very interesting. I figure those are worth something good!

The value of silver is funny, it's not worth much now but it's possible it may become very valuable in the future. @ironshield

Save them @bitdollar's! :D

I'll let you know if I find a bitdollar in a stack someday. That would be a surprise! @ironshield

4 with a couple of possibles 40%.

We were happy to find even more than that! @ironshield

4 pieces of silver! Debatable on the % of each!

These are all good guesses, but there's more... @ironshield

Looks like fun. Family time and enjoying coins is a great pass time. i enjoy watching and coin roll hunting when i can. My guess is 3 40% silver halves and 1 90%. Thanks for sharing.

It was a fun time. I think it was educational for my children too. I didn't find anything until the last few rolls so it was a big surprise! I was thinking for sure we'd find nothing. You are correct about the one 90%, but there are more of the 40% hiding in there. Look closely! @ironshield

Great job. My kids and I love looking through half dollars. I think I see Six. Great score

You were first to get it right! There are six silver coins in the stack of 20. @ironshield

My guess is six.

You are also correct, but @bowentroyer beat you to it. Good guess! @ironshield

I see 5...

Always been curious if this was still possible. Unfortunately most of my local banks are difficult to either get halves or return them.

I put a request in at my local bank and had to wait two weeks for it to come in. I've been able to return them in the past, hopefully they will take these back for cash or deposit. The silver coin guesses are getting closer and closer, but not there yet. @ironshield

Ah nice. I am afraid to ask my credit union, they already have a sign on the change machine saying its for small quantity only. Congrats finding the 6, I would be stoked for silver at face value!

I got skunked on my last box, did find anything. I was happy with this one! We were very surprised. @ironshield

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63955.40
ETH 3139.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87