COIN SHOP VISITS - NEW YEARS RITUALS AND CUSTOMS - 2018 SILVER EAGLE - RED BOOK - MORE !!

in #steemsilvergold6 years ago

NEW YEAR RITUALS AND CUSTOMS

Each new year, there are rituals and customs for coin collectors and silver stackers. Actually, these are my rituals and customs. I expect other coin collectors must also follow these unwritten rules, rituals and customs.

NEW YEAR 2018 AMERICAN SILVER EAGLE

Each new year, the new American Silver Eagle is a must have for coin collectors and silver stackers. The American Silver Eagle is the most popular silver bullion coin on the planet. Each new year, I wait patiently for the new Silver Eagles to arrive. I usually go to the more 'upscale' local coin shop to acquire the new year American Silver Eagle.

The New Year has not quite started until I have acquired my new year American Silver Eagle.

NEW YEAR 2018 AMERICAN SILVER EAGLE

ASE2018o.jpg

NEW YEAR 2018 RED BOOK

As I have mentioned many times, the Red Book is "A Guide Book of United States Coins" By R.S. Yeoman. It is affectionately known as the Red Book. It is THE DEFINITIVE GUIDE for all U.S. Coins. This book is used by collectors to determine the value of all U.S. Coins. Some collectors speculate that the values are higher than reality.

The New Year has not quite started until I have acquired my new year Red Book.

NEW YEAR 2018 RED BOOK

RedBook2018.jpg

NEW YEAR 2018 BLUE BOOK

As I have mentioned a few times, the Blue Book is the "Handbook of United States Coins" By R.S. Yeoman. It is affectionately known as the Blue Book. It is THE DEFINITIVE GUIDE for all U.S. Coins, from a different perspective. This book is used by coin dealers to determine the buy value of all U.S. Coins. Some collectors speculate that the values are lower than reality.

The New Year has not quite started until I have acquired my new year Blue Book.

NEW YEAR 2018 BLUE BOOK

BlueBook2018.jpg

COIN SHOP VISIT TO THE UPSCALE LOCAL COIN SHOP

Fortunately, I have three local coin shops. Each has its own peculiarities. Previously, I have posted about my main local coin shop 'A to Z Coins and Jewelry, where I generally get good deals on individual items. However, today I am looking for the 2018 American Silver Eagle. My main LCS does not get first delivery of the ASEs.

COIN SHOP VISIT TO THE UPSCALE LOCAL COIN SHOP

FairfieldFull.jpg
FairfieldCrop.jpg

Fairfields for the new 2018 American Silver Eagle

Fairfields is the upscale local coin shop, where they deal with larger quantities, more gold, and generally get first delivery of the new American Silver Eagles. As I arrived to Fairfields, I took a few photos to post. I was greeted and of course they had the newly delivered 2018 American Silver Eagles. The price is $5.50 over spot, which was not bad considering nobody actually had the new 2018 ASEs and the others charge $4.50 over spot for previous years.

Fairfields for Constitutional Silver

Fairfields also has better deals on constitutional silver coins. They have bags of constitutional silver coins at $10 face value for $135. They have separate bags for dimes, quarters or half dollars. These are generally well worn coins. The dimes always have several 1964 Roosevelt dimes in excellent condition and many Mercury dimes in worn condition. Likewise, the half dollars always have many 1964 Kennedy half dollars in excellent condition and many Franklin half dollars. I went with the quarters this time. There were many, many Washington quarters that were very worn. There was one Standing Liberty quarter with a worn off date. These were minted from 1916 to 1930. There was one 1964 Proof Washington quarter worth $11 by itself.

$10 Face Value of Washington Quarters

WashingtonQuarters10Face.jpg

Success at Fairfields

So, I walked out with $10 face value of Washington Quarters and TWO 2018 American Silver Eagles. Yeah, the New Year has begun.

Barnes and Noble

The local coin shops usually don't sell the new Red Book and definitely not the new Blue Book. Selling both of these books at a coin shop would be counter productive to the valuations that they set for the coins in the shop. The two books have different valuations for different reasons as stated above.

I go to the local book shop, Barnes and Noble, for the new 2018 Red Book and 2018 Blue Book. Sure, I could hit Amazon or other sites, but I need these books to start off the New Year! I can't wait for delivery!

Success at Barnes and Noble

So, I hit up the local mall and Barnes and Noble where they had both books for me. Yeah, the New Year has begun.
RedAndBlueBook2018.jpg

.

Sort:  

Bad to the bone @goldkey!

Thanks @thedamus

@goldkey I remember how excited I used to get when the New Redbook came out each year. I can't believe that I have been around Coin collecting since the early 70's...

From your posts and blog, you are much more serious with gold than I have ever been. That's great. I enjoy to 'Lady in the Bunker' posts a lot and those pours are great.
I started in the late 70's. I still have my entire childhood collection from then because I just kept it together and never let it go. I had a huge 20 year gap from mid 80's to mid 2000's. I've been enjoying silver and numismatics again, since 2008. It's a great hobby and it has more purpose today.
Getting the Red Book is an amusement and pleasant part of the hobby.

  • Rule # 32 - "Enjoy the little things" - Zombieland.

@goldkey I could not agree more with what you just said @goldkey. I Love what this #steemsilvergold is doing and we are here at the Very Beginning............

When I was a little kid and learned of a new coin (like a large cent) I got excited and called the local coin shop to ask the price and if they had any. Eventually they told me to stop calling, but boy did coins capture my imagination.

Nice pick ups

I'm pretty new to stacking and collecting. I went to a coin show today and there were lots of guys looking for 2018 ASEs. Coin dealers pretty universally asking $22 for them. I guess next January I'll take a tube with me and charge... 21 :P

The other two coin shops in town did not have them yet. Actually, one claimed that the mint had not yet started sending them out. The new ASEs are in demand this time of year.

You're so nice for commenting on this post. For that, I gave you a vote! I just ask for a Follow in return!

Nice way to document your ritual start to the the New Year of Coins. I think its impossible to have too many ASEs.

Thanks, I've been doing this for the last few years. It's a nice way to keep track of my coins and stay up to date. While things don't change much from year to year, it just give a sense of being complete.
Right! Not possible to have too many ASEs.

$10 of quarters... So quick maths, 10/4 = 40 coins to add to the collection. NICE!! Ive said it hundreds of time, I wish the UK still had silver circulating in its currency. Loving the red and blue books too. Thanks for sharing

Yes, 40 chances at key dates :)
I have one 1964 Washington Proof out of the batch. I'll take time to look through them all to look for dates and mintmarks :)

Mao also had a little red book but I do not think that gold coins were part of it. :)

Did he also have a blue book? I did not know about Mao's red book, now I see what you are talking about, which is a totally separate topic and discussion.

Sounds like you're in my neck of the woods! I purchase from Fairfields and A-Z as well. I don't go to Mr. Wimps much as when I've gone there in the past, it seems as though their premiums were the highest in town over spot. There's another small shop in Waynedale that I go to pretty regularly called Solly's. If you're looking for multiple tubes of ASEs he generally doesn't have more than one or two on-hand but does keep a good stock of 90% silver and has a pretty decent price on them. Happy Stacking!

Hello, neighbor! Great to meet you. I look forward to seeing some posts.
Actually, I guess you started today. Fantastic. Be sure to create a post using the tag #introduceyourself .
I'll have to check out that other shop. I agree about Wimps, highest premium, lowest service.
I stay incognito on here, but I recently posted about my local shops. I suspected someone would recognize them and / or identify them. There are a couple of other steemit users from our area, within one hour of us, and many within our state.
Finally, I must recommend #steemsilvergold to you. It's a fantastic community here that focuses on silver and gold. Enjoy on Steem and Keep Stackin'
:)

This post has received a 3.98 % upvote from @boomerang thanks to: @goldkey

I remember how excited I used to get when the New Redbook came out each year. I can't believe that I have been around Coin collecting since the early @goldkey great post and thanks for sharing lovu you...😍😍😍

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 63624.94
ETH 3481.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54