You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Got Coins? Take The Stacker Test

I freely admit I'm not a stacker, unless you can count comic books (they are currently stacked in tubs). :) I also collected stamps (all with the date stamp since I was taking them off of letters we received), bottle caps (used of course), and for a time, don't ask me why, I would write down the license plates we saw on a trip. Actually, the reason for that was to find out how many out of state plates we saw. Why I wrote down the numbers, I don't know, and where the notebook is, good question. This was probably at least 40 years ago, so I doubt the cars are on the road still, along with plenty of the drivers, let alone the license plates.

I wonder if one of those could help solve a cold case, or exonerate someone by providing the alibi they couldn't get corroborated. Maybe I should find out what happened to those! :) I'm guessing my mother threw them away.

Sort:  

Sounds more like collecting than stacking, but there's nothing wrong with that. Those old comic books might be worth a bundle by now. You'd be surprised.

That's the main reason they're actually still around. Otherwise, I think my wife would have tossed them along ago. She doesn't like stuff just taking up space unless she has some use for them.

I'd have to get them looked at and such. I might wait a while longer to do that though. I've been meaning to subscribe to a monthly comic book valuation service, but haven't. The big book I've seen sold is rather expensive just to satisfy my curiosity. I do have some ballpark ideas, though, of which ones have some value over others.

Sounds like your comic book stack is something you should be writing about.

I've been thinking about that. I'm not sure quite how I want to approach it, though. I mean, I could do it from a collector's point of view, but that's not really how I came into comic books. It was more as a reader, and what the stories meant to me at that time of my life. So, we'll see what I come up with, whenever that is. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64349.87
ETH 2775.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65