Silver Coin In The Wild! Finding A Silver Coin In My Change

Gresham's Law Missed This One

You know Gresham's law, right? It's the rule that states that when two coins are equal in debt paying value but unequal in intrinsic value, the one of lesser intrinsic value tends to remain in circulation and the other tends to be hoarded.

This is shortened into the common "bad money drives out good."

This is why you don't find old silver (or gold!) coins being used in normal transactions anymore.

Why would you spend a silver quarter (worth $3 in silver value) at the face value of 25 cents when you can use a clad quarter (4 cents in metal value) to buy the same amount of goods?

Well, people don't. They take the coins with more value out of circulation. That is why finding a silver nickel in my change was quite a surprise. I think this is the third time in my entire life that I have found silver coinage in my change.

I run the office snack bar, so I often take a quick look at the coins for anything special. Normally, this is just taking 100% copper pennies out but today was something a bit more special.

Silver nickel.jpg

Silver nickel reverse.jpg

A quick glance at my change and I knew that this nickel was worth taking a closer look.

How could I tell? Let me teach you.

How To Quickly Identify A Silver War Nickel

Take a look at this pile of nickels and see if one stands out.

Pile of nickels with one silver nickel.jpg

The "dirty" appearance of that one nickel at the top left makes it worthy of further investigation.

Why? Because silver tarnishes.

During the WWII years of 1942-1945 the US changed the normal metal composition of the nickel from 75% copper and 25% nickel to 56% copper, 35% silver, and 9% manganese. This was due to the hugely increased need for copper and nickel for the war.

So the next step is to look for the year of the coin. 1942, 1943, 1944, and 1945 are the years you want to see.

One last step to guarantee that your nickel is silver is to look at the reverse of the coin for a large mintmark above the dome of Monticello.

20180523_220430.jpg

Notice how the "normal" nickels don't have a mintmark there at all. This makes it easy to spot.

So if you have a nickel minted between 1942 and 1945 and it has a large mintmark on the reverse, then you have yourself a nickel that is worth close to $1 at current silver prices.

To Recap

Sure, you can check the date of each nickel you get, or flip them over and look for the mintmark, but doing that would take a lot of time for a very low chance of reward for that effort.

  • Look for any coins with discoloration.
  • Check the date, looking for anything from 1942-1945.
  • Flip it over and look for the large mintmark. It will be either 'P', 'D', or 'S'.

That's it!

These simple tips helped me throw a little bit more silver in my stockpile. They can do the same for you.

Happy hunting.

Sort:  

If you jingle the change in your pockets you will hear a distinct ringing sound with silver rather than the dull clink of nickel or zinc.

Takes a trained ear for that, I prefer visual methods.

Here's a visual method that occasionally works.

There are usually coin counter machines at the front of most large grocery stores.

I check the coin reject slot (many people forget to recover their rejects).

Silver has a different weight and is rejected.

There is also the added surprise of foreign coins.

Sweet little find man! I actually just talked silver investing on Tuesday's show with a steemit user in that niche. I may have the bug now!

Well, I think it's a great bug to have :D

that sounds like a really fun game to play @getonthetrain.

Sadly, it's not one we can play here since all our coins were changed when Sterling was decimalised in the 1970s, so anything before that is not legal tender and/or in circulation. 😢

Yeah, that would kinda throw a kink in the coin search plan!

You ever think about metal detecting? People finding those old gold Roman hordes. :P

Yep. I've got a metal detector @getonthetrain but I keep forgetting I have one.

I think my grandson is now at an age when he would really enjoy using it. I really must have a dig through the garage to find it! 😁

Wauhhh... Wonderful. I'm really amazed. Well, I do use plenty of coins but I couldn't identify the difference. I'll start paying attention and verify with what they made.

Well, might be kinda difficult for ya but have at it!

Roughly 2 to 3 War Nickels per $100 Box of Nickels if you are doing Urban Mining.................

Really, still that many floating around. Interesting.

You're going to be shocked to learn that the Coins you've been Tossing Back as "so called" Bad Money, are going to be Reset in Purchasing Power by 100 Fold, if my P.C. Theory is Correct... The Silver Nickel pictured will still hold a Premium Value for the Silver content... I have over 500 Posts on the Topic...

Hey, nickels aren't bad in their own right. Best coin to keep out of all of the ones they still make today.

Exactly. They were going to debase them in 2015 I think it was and never did. Only modern coin with any actual value. I keep all mine for prepping type purposes. Nickels, and all pre '65 dimes and quarters. Not sure all of them have silver but I intend to look through them

Our nickels stood the test of time... What you found is commonly known as a War Nickel... The 25% Nickel they removed, was replaced with 35% Silver... You explained it exactly, but those percentages always stuck in my mind...

Something similar happened with my family when we were looking for old coins in my great grandmother's property.

Silver coins look a little bit different but it can be exciting to look for them, and we still have more coins we need to "analyze".

Granny knew what was what by keeping the old coins.

I need to start paying closer attention to these sort of things, but there aren't many rare coins here in europe, at least not in circulation, my dad has one of those proof read coins collection though, probably worth 1000bucks, but he is afraid to sell it because he thinks no one will give him a fair price... i don't have a clue why he wants the coins, they are just there in a box inside a cupboard, that money could be invested for the future, he could do so many things with that money, damn he could buy 1000bucks worth of crypto!

Diversification man! I think everyone should have some physical precious metals kicking around. You never know.

.

How'd you end up with the coin?

.

Upvoted ($0.21) and resteemed by @investorsclub

Join the Investors Club if you are interested in investing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63740.26
ETH 2618.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79