Saturday Silver Purchase Courtesy of my Neighbor

The Silver Haul Today.jpg

I Love To Add To The Silver Stack

My older neighbor has been handling the estate of an elderly lady that he has known for decades. She recently had to move into a nursing home.

So he has been freeing up assets of hers to pay for this care. When he went to check her safety deposit box he found a small lot of silver coins. Since he knows I am a silver hound, he contacted me and told me about them. I told him I would certainly buy them at a fair price, better than any coin store or pawn shop would.

Check out what I purchased!

40 Halves and Quarters.jpg

Half Dollars.jpg

Peace Dollars.jpg

1964 Innsbruck Winter Olympics.jpg

The Numbers

  • Silver Half Dollars (40%) - 4
  • Silver Half Dollars (90%) - 19
  • Silver Quarters - 5
  • Peace Dollars - 5
  • A 50-Schilling 1964 Innsbruck Winter Olympics coin

Total Paid: $215

More shiny for the treasure hoard!

Have you picked up any silver or gold lately? I would LOVE to see!

Silver is the most undervalued metal, imo.

Sort:  

Aw. That's great @getonthetrain. A win-win-win for all involved. 😊

I thought so as well. I pay less compared to the store and she gets more than a store would pay.

And the neighbour gets to do a good deed! 😁

Nice acquisitions @getonthetrain. I put Up a post on the Little Carson City Pick Up that I made yesterday. A Cool Silver Round and Copper Round that were Struck on the same Coin Press that many of the Carson City Coins were Struck on over 140 years ago..............

Nice, I didn't know the original press was still around.

Hey, those are nice, and a pretty good deal for both parties. I don't know how much the Olympics coin is valued at, but the other ones are nice to add to the stack.

I valued it at $10 - it's silver

Nice! I would have thought it would be worth more because of the uniqueness of the coin, but it's still really cool and nice for you that you could get it at such a low price.

Nice...I love these older coins as you do not need to handle them so puritanically. And they feel and sound so good in hand or pocket...enjoy!

Yeah, me too. I love to be able to hold the coins and not care. Probably why I love old junk silver so much.

Wow, these coins are looking nice and shiny! :D Congratulations on your latest acquisition, @getonthetrain. It’s a good time to be stacking precious metals.

That it is! Silver is so unappreciated right now too (kinda like crypto at the moment).

It's like you're in my head. I recently purchased silver via the ETF - SLV. Rising interest rates tend not to be great for precious metals, but I see it as an inflation hedge. Although if the system collapses, my digital silver would likely be useless. Physical is the best hedge besides the spread to exchange to fiat. My guess is you're thinking similar to me, and never selling though.

I have a few SLV call options and hold a few hundred USLV as well as a couple miners.

So, yeah, I am expecting silver to do well at some point in the near future. But every time it gets going it gets beat down...

Be careful with those leveraged funds. They often have high carrying costs and typically underperform in a flat market due to contango in the futures they hold. I'd day trade them, but never hold over night. I was trading an oil ETN that got shut down in 2009. That was an expensive lesson for me. View a chart of USLV from 2012 to see what I mean.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63315.23
ETH 2545.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67