Not silver or gold, but here it is

in #steemsilvergold7 years ago

Hi all.
I was at the Smithsonian African American history museum in DC. And when I was in the gift shop paying, I spotted some dollar coins in the till, so I asked if I could have them instead of paper bills as my change. The young girl at the counter was more than happy to give them to me, because she didn't know what to do with them, she said.
IMG_20171118_005326.jpg
IMG_20171118_005359.jpg
IMG_20171118_005408.jpg
IMG_20171118_005417.jpg
IMG_20171118_005425.jpg

Anyway these are pretty cool, and I didn't have any of them before, so that was a nice thing to find. Then I came across a penny at the Lincoln Memorial.

IMG_20171118_005307.jpg

I know what you're thinking, " @fat-elvis, you idiot, those aren't special". But check it out compared to one I had in my pocket.
IMG_20171118_005321.jpg

Anyways , thanks for checking out my little post.
DQmPjVxtBypMn2kEKviCQeGs1nWJG6o7mtrwhM17WKr4aYQ_1680x8400.png

USA! USA! USA!

Sort:  

Nice find with those dollars in the till You've got eagle eyes! And that giant penny is awesome it's nice to be able to see the fine details

I find it never hurts to ask if they ahve dollar coins or half dollars, quite often stores and gas stations just set aside all them to go to the bank and they're more than happy to get rid of them

Calling @originalworks :)
img credz: pixabay.com
Nice, you got a 83.0% @peaceandlove upgoat, thanks to @fat-elvis
It consists of $17.76 vote and $5.92 curation
Want a boost? Minnowbooster's got your back!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @fat-elvis to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Congratulations @fat-elvis! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

We have a bunch of the Sacajawea coins too.

I think they're a nice thing to save. I'd like to get some Ike dollars sometime as well.

Cool coins to add to your collection, fat-elvis.

Thanks KP. I like different coins, even if they aren't gold😎

I’ve been ultrally amused hahaha, thank you for Sharing that’s a good collection..

better get bigger pockets \o/

Way bigger, that thing is huge!

im thinking rucksack \o/

This post has received a 12.81 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @fat-elvis.

Nice find. I love it when you get interesting things in your change.

I guess they aren't too common in circulation here, because the girl wasn't sure if they "worked" as currency.

That's true. You don't really run across them in everyday use. The tooth fairy at my house leaves the Sacagawea dollars, I think since they are gold colored.

Good luck trying to spend that penny. winkyface

This post has received a 12.65 % upvote from @boomerang thanks to: @fat-elvis

@boomerang distributes 100% of the SBD and up to 80% of the Curation Rewards to STEEM POWER Delegators. If you want to bid for votes or want to delegate SP please read the @boomerang whitepaper.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63439.39
ETH 2545.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66