Not silver... But a free King George

in #steemsilvergold6 years ago

Hey all,

Just a quick post. We were garage sale shopping again today. Picked up a truck full of stuff for my wife to scatter around the yard. Its called "yard art" but a lot of it looks like "cheap yard junk" lol. Whatever, makes her happy for a while.

Also picked up a grass seeder/fertilizer, a wheel barrow, some construction pencils, and about 4000 drywall screws.

But, I ended up getting a little bit of treasure in my change.

IMG_20180610_151746.jpg

A 1940 King George nickel. You don't see many king George coins in circulation any more.

IMG_20180610_154732.jpg

And a big @fat-elvis sized congratulations to all of the winners from the very successful Monster Raffle! I ended up having to miss most of the live raffle, but I understand it was great, and @summertooth will be getting a 2ozer freedom girl, from yours truly in the mail soon. So congrats @summertooth!!

image.png

Sort:  

“Yard art” is one of the better euphemisms i’ve heard in a while 😂

That is a nice change find @fat-elvis! Here in the US, I have been searching my change every chance I get to see if I can find something good. So, I think it is just a matter of time.

Thanks KS
I've been searching my change for many years, and rarely have I found much of any worth. But we get a lot of new designed coins here, and I keep an example of each one, even though they aren't worth much.

That's cool, I've never seen a King George nickel.

Thanks cyber. They're out there, but most people never kept nickels here, so I imagine most went out of circulation by the mint.

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

You just received a Tier 0 upvote! Looking for bigger rewards? Click here and learn how to get them or visit us on Discord
If you would like to opt out of receiving comments reply with STOP

Should the chance of you finding a pre-1981 nickel in Canada be the same as you finding a pre-1981 Lincoln cent in US? Both are made of pure nickel...

I find them, sometimes. And the 81-89 were 75% nickel. They come around as well, but the KG ones don't very often.

I’ve been saving all of my nickels made out of pure nickel for years now.

I should really go through the old coins my Aunt gave me a few months back and see just how many old nickel and copper coins she gave me!

I save copper pennies, but we don't get them in circulation anymore. I don't really save nickels though, maybe I should. Any Canadian before 1989 may be worth saving.

That’s what I do! Save everything made of nickel!

Nice find brother. Good luck with that lawn junk....oops I meant art...🤣🤣🤣

Thanks bro. 😆. The nice thing is, that I have to move a million things every time I mow...

Lucky you.....🤪

Wow.... this coin must have been in circulation for 80 years... imagine the story it can share with us should it has a voice

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 67928.13
ETH 3777.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75