1/3 price silver?

in #steemsilvergold7 years ago

Well kinda, here's my story.

The other day when I was in the local coin shop, the owner asked me if I still had any of the glow-in-the-dark toonies ($2.00 CAD). Because he was in need of some. I told him I had most of a roll left.
IMG_20180119_152219.jpg
You see I scored a whole roll of them at my bank one day, last year, so they cost me $2.00 each. Being a bit of a collector, I like to keep a couple of each unique circulation coins I can find in my change etc.

Fast forward to today, and the price/demand for these little gems has gone up dramatically, too bad the bank just had the one roll! So I sold the partial roll of toonies (21 of them), but never took the cash off the counter, because looky what I spied in the junk box...😀
IMG_20180119_162639.jpg
What a day! Not only did my toonies go up in value, but I was able to score some more Olympic sterling silver coins. These are 1.44 ozt per $10.00 face. So these coins add 4.32 ozt to my humble stack, plus I got a $10.00 bill on top of these.
IMG_20180119_162704.jpg
IMG_20180119_162736.jpg

So all in these toonies cost me $42.00 cad. Then subtract the $10.00 change is $32.00. 32/4.32=7.41.
So these beauty sterling coins cost me in the end $7.41 cad /ounce troy! Sweet!
IMG_20180119_162802.jpg
IMG_20180119_162826.jpg

The best part is, he was happy, and will make 💲 from the toonies, and I am happy cause I got some sweet sterling silver! Win-win!

Thanks for checking out my little silver post!
DQmXyyg1YVHKw1ZbguhsoRa92GUwovFEifj8XfWaTPvnY4H_1680x8400.png
DQmTKoAdspomzZmnwW1X8zpDp3ykCveUz2ugxAY9LCxq4Tv.png
DQmfAPV1CrHpQWUw98FRbLWC2BLN3U3jTe1ybkEm8kZwNt6.png

Sort:  

What a mover n shaker you are! I love that deal almost as much as those 76ers! I haven’t seen those before...awesome

Thanks dude. Yeah I didn't have the $10 ones in my stack yet, so I was pretty happy. I asked him if he could find me an original 28 coin case for them,hopefully next time I'm there he has one for me! That's be sweet!

Stack those Mofos, Mofo!!!

Nicely looted there Elvis! They sure are purdy!!

Thanks Matt! I'm always happy with these big sterling coins, they've been coming out of the woodworks lately around here. It's cool cause they're the same price/oz as maples for me, and it's a no brainer for me, to buy these instead! Mind you he sells me Libertads for the same as maples too sometimes! Did you get your package yet?

Not yet, but it normally takes 8-10 days. You sent them from Montreal?

They would have probably gone to Winnipeg, then state side, but Canada Post has been horrible lately, everything takes twice as long as it used to!

No worries...they will get here when they get here. Thank you...enjoy the weekend.

@fat-elvis I Really like the WIN WIN Scenario................

Thanks stockjockey! The only deals worth doing end up with both sides happy!

Great trade!
That’s awesome u got those at a bank! Here in the states these days they hardly ever have extra cool pieces. At least where I live they look at me like I’m nuts when I ask.

Yeah, they look at me like I'm nuts as well, but I've learned to accept that,lol

I had no idea the glow in the dark toonies would gain much value!! I also pick out pocket change , I only have a few un-circulated, i plan on keeping them for now, you got yourself a nice trade tho!! I like visiting my local dealer for bargain silver coins. Great haul !

thanks Ladybug.

Great when a plan comes together, great business buddy \o/

Nice score @fat-elvis! I have been watching for one of those sterling Olympics for you here in Ohio, but no such luck!
It's great that you can turn a fv bank score into silver, awesome!

Thanks JB. It's pretty sweet deal, sit on some unusual coins for a while and flip them for silver!

Damn nice score, Do the coins actually glow in the dark?
The olympic coins are really neat, im jelous.
:P

Yeah the toonies glow, the part with the northern lights is what glows.

Thats kind of a neat idea.
i have never seen glow in the dark coins before.
Do you still have more of them and if so how much would i have to pay you for one?
in sbd of course if you would sell one.
:D

I might have one or two left. You can pm me on steemit.chat same username.

woudl 1sbd cover one? im not sure the current price.
if so i will send it over and we can figure the shipping out after.
:D
more then 1 sbd i might not want as it could go towards generic silver. lol
a glowing coin though.
lol
Would prolly go for eamil over steem chat as steem chat is public.
:D

EDIT:
i didnt think of shipping. whats shipping cost on coins.
:O

It shouldn't be much more than regular letter. I have to check to see if I have more than 1 left. I'll let you know later today.

:D
no rush, i just got a shipment in the mail so my itch to buy has been scratched for a day or two.
lol

Coins that glow in the dark! That must be some diamond, not coins.

You have received an upvote from STAX. Thanks for being a member of the #steemsilvergold community and opting in (if you wish to be removed please follow the link). Please continue to support each other in this great community. To learn more about the #steemsilvergold community and STAX, check this out.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63004.58
ETH 2548.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81