a very special pour

Hey all This is Dixiesilvergirl, and today I am sharing This very special pour that the miner did for me.
My father was a fireman for over 30 years, I spent my whole childhood seeing him leave when the plectron went off.
It was a small town volunteer fire department and he knew every person whose house he was called to. He drove the big ladder truck and I got to ride on it in every parade. They hung the city Christmas decorations and had city cookouts! I have lots of great memories of my Dad and his being a fireman is a big part of that. Here is a picture from one of the many parades.
dads badge 4 (2).jpg

My Dad was a big coin collector and every Tuesday night the firemen played penny ante poker and although I didn’t like it that he was gone, I knew that when he got home we would search through his coins to fill the blue books he kept. I didn’t really understand the coins but I like the time we spent together. I had forgotten the fun of coin hunting, until we got into stacking and now we have had many great coin hunts as a family, definitely right up there with board games for family fun!!
My Dad passed away 26 years ago, when things were passed along, between myself and my siblings I got his Fireman Badge. This is proudly displayed in our family room, the kids have heard a million stories and it always makes me smile. The miner had the idea that he could cast the badge. I was speechless what a great memorial.
dad's badge 2 .jpg
dads badge.jpg

Thanks for reading and Happy Stacking!
chocolate chip.png

Sort:  

Great story. I'm reminded of my grampa who serviced the equipment and vehicles at the fire hall. He had stories of the parade truck from back when it was in service.

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 5.35 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.07
Server time: 19:58:47
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 165.20/200.00
Total Photos: 31
Total comments: 2
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.09 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Resteemed your article. This article was resteemed because you are part of the New Steemians project. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Hello gaman!

Congratulations! This post has been randomly Resteemed! For a chance to get more of your content resteemed join the Steem Engine Team

That looks really good, love the design and a really nice sentimental piece

This is the silver community at its finest !!

Fantastic story ! Thank you for sharing ..

Lovely... A real meaningful piece and such great memories, I'm sure he's looking down on you from the brightest star, smiling with pride.
I recently lost my son, at the end of last summer and It hurts, so much he was only just turned 16 but I'm so glad for the memories. was one today on facebook 3 years ago me and him chilling at the beach and then it hit's you, it's never gonna happen again, But your so glad it did happen. They live on in us that are still here.

Our Sympathies for your loss but so very happy you chose to share this memory here with us!!! Memories and sharing the stories with others definitely keeps them with us. Sometimes we have to remind ourselves that the everyday stuff may someday be something to hold onto, enjoy every minute you can.

Thx Indeed, Every second is priceless and nothing more so than with your children. I have 2 daughters as well, both younger 11 & 6 and they've lost their big bro. such a tragedy really,

Nice when you can make it yourself.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63885.30
ETH 3142.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86