Charming Holiday Keepsake

in #steemsilvergold6 years ago (edited)

All my life I have collected .925 silver charms.

I generally purchase the charms while travelling. They serve as souvenirs of each trip I take and remind me of lots of good times. While on our recent trip to Boston I was on the hunt for new additions to the collection. The hunt was a success!

Let’s have a peek at what I brought home. ☺️


image
Silver Swan: I picked up this little bird in the Boston Public Garden. One of our first activities on the trip was a swan boat ride. The swan boats run spring through early fall in the garden. Each boat runs off of human pedal power features a swan at the front of the boat.

image
Actual swan boat.


image
I got this charm in Nantucket. The island is known for these beautiful hand made baskets. During the days of whaling a popular hobby aboard ship between hunts was making baskets.


image
Here is a lovely little charm of the state of Massachusetts. I purchased this in Hyannis. One of my favorite things about this charm is it names several of the spots we visited: Boston, Worcester, Cape Cod, Plymouth.


image
This charm is of the Mayflower. This ship brought English settlers (pilgrims) to America in November 1620. We saw a replica of this boat in Mystic, Connecticut.


image
Here we have a delightful little lighthouse. We saw at least four on the trip. This lighthouse isn’t one that we specifically visited but I feel like it captured the seaside vibe of our holiday.

image
Mystic, Connecticut.


image
Cape Cod is a peninsula on the eastern side of Massachusetts. We spent three night on the Cape visiting the most charming little towns I’ve ever seen.


image
This charm depicts the Pilgrim Monument located in Provincetown, Massachusetts. This tower marks the spot the English settlers first came to shore in what would later become the USA.

image
Pilgrim Monument


image
This charm is from Plimoth Plantation in the town of Plymouth, Massachusetts. Plimoth Plantation is a living history museum and reproduction of the original pilgrim settlement in America. This charm is of one of the thatched cottages lived in by the settlers.

image
Plimoth Plantation thatched cottages.


image
One of by land, two if by sea! Patriot Paul Revere is famously known in the USA for riding into the night to alert the colony’s militia men of a imminent invasion of British soldiers. This was the final straw that ignited rebellion in the colonies which led to the formation of the United States of America. The night of Revere’s ride a secret code was devised to alert the colonists of the British approach on Boston. One candle would be displayed in a church tower of an invasion by land, two candles if the British came by boat. This charm represents those candles.


Thanks for reading about one of my favor collections! ☺️


Proud Member of:

steemsugars, steemusa, teamaustralia and steemsilvergold

4C63B2A8-74C0-4078-9803-8BFBB6919C44.jpeg
5A1E0B1D-DFA3-4BEE-8DA5-CBE8EA091359.jpeg
8E79A241-C7CB-4629-9365-3B619D2DEA29.png
A73DF22D-37BB-42FB-B61D-928054AD6E76.png
98EA12F5-526D-485C-9912-1642A51307D1.png

Sort:  

giphy (51).gif
You just got splashed by @rewards-pool. For more information on delegating to the @rewards-pool click the following link.
https://steemit.com/steemsilvergold/@rewards-pool/introduction-to-rewards-pool
@rewards-pool where a small delegation can get you a big splash.

Ahhh!!! Refreshing!

Wow, you got a lot of charms. I see general charms in gift shops, but don't often see sterling silver ones. Where do you normally find them?

They are getting a lot harder to find than they used to be. This trip I got lucky and found a ton. Some of these I got in the gift shop of a particular sight or attraction. Some are from jewelry stores in more touristy areas. On Cape Cod I randomly found a silver shop that was also a supplier of charms to locations across the US. It is always a hunt. The jewelry stores over charge, but I always pay if I find something I really like. If only they charged the spot price! 😄

If they charged spot, you could make a killing. Have you thought about buying a bunch of sterling silver silverware and then melting it and making your own charms? You could buy the mold and then pour it yourself.

Nah... that sounds like a lot of effort. 😄 I do have sterling silverware but we eat with it. ☺️

I got some sterling silverware myself. I found it at the coin store for spot price. Can't beat that. Unfortunately, I forgot how many grams they were and I don't have a small scale, so I can't include them in my total ounces right now. Ha ha. Also, while they're fun to get, it means that's money that's not going to rounds, bars, and coins. Decisions, decisions.

Those are some charming pieces😉

Ha ha! Nice one! 😄

@dfinney you made out like a Pirate..............

Arrrrrrr! I kind of did. Just less plundering and pillaging involves. 😄

Beautiful silver keepsakes of your recent trip, dear @dfiney! I, too, collect .925 Pandora charms, and now the Mene 24K charms... just so much fun! Thanks for sharing.

Oh yeah the pandora charms are intriguing. I have never gotten one but I like checking them all out. ☺️

It’s a fun little app. Thank you!

Hoping to see you on the system always! :D

Beautiful collection. I particularly liked the Mayflower one.

Thank you @ronaldoavelino! In addition to charms I got plenty of silver on my trip. One right up you alley that I think you posted about recently. An American Comemmorative half dollar. Mt Vernon on one side George Washington on the other. When I get a coin you have shared it always makes me happy. ☺️

Those are cute little silver charms! what a beautiful way to keep track of the places you visit 💗. Personally, I get little semi-precious stone carvings, I always anticipate trinket shopping on vacation. Thanks for sharing 😃

Semi-precious stone carvings! Those sound very cool. Would love to see a photo, or a whole post. ☺️ I buy so much random stuff on vacation. Charms, postcards, books, magnets, Christmas ornaments.... I have a problem. 😄

lol I don't think you have a problem, you like physical memories! @silvergingerman and I are the same, well maybe replace the post cards with fridge magnets for us. Great idea, I should do a post on my little stone trinkets. I will work on that in the near future.

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60860.14
ETH 2960.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61