I wasn't born with a silver spoon in my mouth...

in #steemsilvergold7 years ago (edited)


However, I have had this silver toothbrush since I started teething in the 70s... 

This was more of a keepsake item then anything useful I think.  It says "Sterling" on the back, it has replaceable bristles, and that's about all I know about it...  

The "coin" I used for the picture was to help with focus/color and to compare size (it's as big as a U.S. quarter); it is an old N.Y.C. subway token, from where I lived as a child. 



It's not much, I know, I don't have a great deal left from that time, but I thought they were kind of unusual items, and I wanted to share them.  (Another pic at the end.)

My first post here was the extent of my silver coin "stack." Mostly, I have words to post today. However, I am excited to have new stuff on the way to me soon!

Anyway, I thought I would display this post here, and at a few other tags I follow, as a way to practice my postings on Steemit and to work on my writing, editing, and html stuff.

*This next section is a little more relevant to #steemsilvergold as kind of a brief, pre-introduction to myself, as I'm currently working on a more, detailed, 
post for my general Steemit introduction since I haven't actually completed
Steemit's "Step 5" yet, and I wanted to do an intro.

Consider this a prologue (?) to a more formal introduction to follow soon...

Hello, steemsilvergold!



‎13
That's my lucky number!

‎I just completed one of @coolbowser's auctions for a limited edition silver Steem round earlier this week on #steembay with a high bid of 13 SBDs. That's pretty good considering what SBD is trading at currently. However, for me, the value of this Steem round is more of the sentimental type thing, this is my first/only Steem silver round (so far), and also one with the year I joined Steemit and started using Steem. This will be my first silver piece that wasn't found in pocket change, or that I've received as a gift.

A physical steam coin paid for with virtual Steem Backed Dollars...
Turning Litecoin gains, into SBD, into a real silver coin!

This is my first physical item that I have traded for with any sort of cryptocurrency. 
Up until now, I have only been a HODLer.

Another thought, is that, this transaction feels like I'm also supporting Steem and Steemit by investing into Steem Backed Dollars using other crypto, and then returning the SBD back into the Steemit economy through this transaction with Coolbowser, win/win/win...
Thank you, @Coolbowser --

Here is a few of his other Steem coin auctions currently running:

https://steemit.com/steembay/@coolbowser/23t8t1-new-year-how-bout-a-new-limited-edition-silver-steem-round

https://steemit.com/steembay/@coolbowser/5n4bpy-new-year-how-bout-a-new-limited-edition-silver-steem-round

This Steem coin is also the first silver piece to start off my new years resolution (read this post)* https://steemit.com/challenge/@cyber.explorer/which-has-the-better-value-pizza-or-an-ounce-of-silver
Thanks @underground for the inspiration on that idea.


***

Then, the day-before-yesterday, while browsing through the steemsilvergold posts, I came across another Steem coin offered by sevinwilson.  However, the fact that he accepted EOS as an exchange, made me jump at the chance to get another one of these by trading a different crypto, that I have been holding on to, for the first time. Thank you @sevinwilson for my second Steem coin.

https://steemit.com/steemsilvergold/@sevinwilson/2017-steem-silver-rounds-for-sale-donation-to-steemsilverround-for-every-round-sold/

And... now it feels like I've gone down that path as an amateur-numismatic, I started my stack, and there's no turning back!

Still, it's not just the Steem silver coins that make these transactions enjoyable for me right now, but by being a part of this new economic paradigm of virtual coinage. That, is the real fascinating thing for me.

To digress a bit, This experience feels like the time I graduated from a 56k dial-up phone modem, to a high-speed, always-on, cable connection.  Or, when everyone went from using email-messaging boards for communicating, to posting pictures, music, and videos on social-media profile sites like MySpace...

I mean, I have been purchasing crap online from Amazon prime for years; and may possibly, or not, have downloaded mp3s from Napster before it was cool.... but this new internet era of commerce seems... different.


Some of you might be there already, but there are still countless stragglers like me around.

The blockchain and cryptocurrencies are only a small part the evolution of the internet to come.  Mass unemployment from automation will have to be solved, and Universal Basic Income from a tokenized society might be an answer.

This year, narrow artificial intelligence, augmented reality, and virtual reality, will start to become as ubiquitous as smart-phones were last year.  This will soon be followed by a seamless (wi-fi?) brain to computer interface; and then probably about 5-10 years from now, quantum computing will change everything again...
"The Singularity is near" as Ray Kurzweil would say....

Now, you know a little more about me, and if you want to leave constructive criticism, or tips for me on making better posts for Steemit, that would be great.
Your opinions matter.


If you have read this far, thank you!

And to keep it relevant,



Here is a picture of a silver cup I have, that is as old as, or older than the toothbrush.
The cup handle was made using a sterling spoon,
but the cup itself is silver plated tin, I think...

I know most of you consider this junk silver, but what would you do with it?


* * *

(Disclaimer: I cannot guarantee post quality, but I can pledge 100% originality.)

Copyright 2018

Unless otherwise stated
all photo sources: me, with potato.
(other image source & credit: Google / C.C. / Public Domain / labeled for reuse)

c.e

Sort:  

That's pretty nice old silver. I am a fan of sterling objects, old brushes, razor handles silverware etc. I think they display well.

Thanks, these have been sitting on a bookshelf for years, sometimes I want to polish them, but I never get around to it, and I kind of like how they have aged.

Yes the natural patina adds to the look sometimes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58661.64
ETH 2723.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32