Which has the Better Value-- Pizza, or an Ounce of Silver?

in #challenge7 years ago






Okay, this might sound silly or weird without context... but I thought I would post it anyway.  

For those of you that do not have a new year's resolution yet, or did not read the reply I wrote to @underground's comment in my previous post that inspired this... there is still time, read below.    https://steemit.com/steemsilvergold/@cyber.explorer/hey-stackers-i-m-new#@underground.

The Challenge

My New Year's resolution is to offset my pizza budget by acquiring instead, at least 1 to 2 ounces of silver per month, for the next twelve months
(however, this month was an exception because I was impatient to start).

Is that a good idea or way to promote healthy eating, or something to that extent?
-- lose a few pounds, and gain several ounces!

For example: An average 16" plain pizza in my area is about $17.96, pre-tip ($=USD).
Alternatively, two average microbrew six-packs of beer in my town are like 8.99 ea,
equaling $17.98 (before tax).  I think a silver ounce was at 17.26 yesterday.

Is that how those challenge things start on twitter or something?
# theSilverOunceChallenge
or
# PoundsForOuncesChallenge

To do this: 

Starting now, this week, post a photo of your weight on a scale. Then instead of buying a pizza within the next 6 days, buy one ounce of silver for the last week of January, 26th-31st. ‎ (you don't really have to post pics if you don't want too)

Continue this again during the last week of every month throughout the year;
with the money you saved abstaining from Pizza each month,
(or whatever substitute high-calorie item you choose),
put that extra money towards your silver ounce purchases.
Get several ounces if you put aside enough money.
At the end of the 12 months,
(the final week of December, after your twelfth silver-challenge purchase)
take a picture of your weight on a scale again; after that, take a picture of the silver stack you have acquired and add up the ounces, and also post that pic.

That's it!

I guess you can donate this new accumulation of wealth to your favorite cause, or keep it for yourself (You already won by losing weight, right?)
Anyway, this is an experiment I would like to see the results of for myself.

Anyone want to give it a go?

is this lame?

I'll be back to add my starting picture, as soon as I get a scale.



(Disclaimer: I cannot guarantee post quality, but I can pledge 100% originality.)

Copyright 2018

(Image source & credit: Google / C.C. / Public Domain / labeled for reuse)

c.e

Sort:  

Great idea! Not only is this good to lose weight and invest money, but silver has been bottomed out for about 2 years and is just starting to go up. Good investment

Thanks, I need the motivation.

I've made a similar resolution this year. All the money I used to spend on pot I'm going to spend on cryptocurrency... Including potcoin.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56709.98
ETH 2329.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37