A Silver Coin from The time of The Black Death 0-0 \0/

in #steemsilvergold7 years ago

I Gave one of my hammered coins to Kevin at work, so he could identify it for me, hes very good like that and finds a lot of gold coins and hammered's when hes detecting and has the expertise i dont have :), Anyway he phoned me today and told me it was an Edward the third penny, Now Edward was King of England from 1327 until his death in 1377.

The Black Death or Bubonic plague spread across Europe around 1346-1353 around the middle of Edwards Reign.

And so here is the tiny coin, its not in brilliant condition but , If ever a coin had a tale to tell it could be this one :)

I might make it my pocket piece.




Not sure the resemblance is great but here's the Kings head on the coin and a pic of what he looked like.



This image was taken from the post i did earlier in the month



https://steemit.com/steemsilvergold/@coindevil/looking-through-different-eyes-o-usb-microscope


And it was that image that made me curious about what this coin actually was :)


Here is an image of what the king looked like ( aparently he fathered 13 children \o/ )


Thanks for looking :)

Sort:  

That's insane. Hope you rubbed some antibiotics all over that coin :D @silvergoldbotty pointed me this way and glad I came over here. Very cool coin.

Ty buddy just posted a half coin from the signing of the Magna Carta also on another post its mad these coins are so interesting and yet value wise anyone can pick them up in poor condition for less than the price of a coffee :) incidentally the black death raised its head again recently in Madagascar and other locations but i saw a video of a doctor looking guy that said its readily treatable with modern antibiotics :0 hope so as at the time of this coin the plague wiped out around 50 million people 0-0.

WOW =O

A great looking hammered! Neat piece of history for sure. I would love to be able to take my detector overseas and find some hammered or Roman coins someday. Thanks for sharing it!

your welcome thanks for the reply :)

Nice little hammy. Still not found one myself. So where, when and how? What machine you using? Some nice up close pics. Personally I'd keep it out of my pocket and in a coin capsule. Not a great deal of value to it but historically a nice little find.

I didn't find it myself it was in a small collection i got off ebay but i'm gearing up to detect next year, my friend upgraded to the deus, so i bought his goldmaxx power just building the kit up, got my ncmd card , just need some bits and then somewhere to detect \o/

wow your soo lucky Edward III , thats a really great coin, i really need to find one for my collection, so much historic value in one coin

I so love the history aspect of things, guess that's why i loved our Steemit coin so much because as a collective we made our own history \o/

Hahah that’s is true, I need to still get a steem coin and be apart of it, love the history a lot

hammered coins are an interesting thing to have. People know instantly that they are valuable and historic. Thanks for posting.

Ty Buddy :)

You have received an upvote from STAX. Thanks for being a member of the #steemsilvergold community and opting in (if you wish to be removed please follow the link). Please continue to support each other in this great community. To learn more about the #steemsilvergold community and STAX, check this out.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57028.16
ETH 2358.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40