SteemSilverGold Diversity : Any Jewellers Here?

in #steemsilvergold6 years ago

A strong community is a diverse one. At SteemSilverGold there are lots of stackers who like to show off their metal and organise raffles, we have had an influx lately of the MetalsMafia crew who do amazing hand poured metal works and we have various analysts who like to report on the metal prices, or what the government of the day might be doing. We are starting to get a few merchants in here too. It can take all sorts of different types of people to make a good community and from my perspective as long as there is a shared interest in Gold and Silver, all are welcome.

jeweller.jpg
Source

Last week I wrote about Getting Started With Hand Poured Metal and as I am a stacker at heart I was originally thinking about melting scrap into bars or maybe casting some cool ornaments down the track, but since my wife has been getting interested in metals too she is more artistic and has become keen on learning about fashioning some jewellery. So she has enrolled herself into a Beginners Class for Jewellers.

backtoschool.jpg
Source

I am very supportive of this not just because I value my testicles, but also because to my logic this is potentially another string in the bow for what I want to do with hand pours and we can use some of the same equipment (and metal of course!). The class is just 1 full day and it covers some of the basics like :-

  • Using a Piercing Saw
  • Soldering Silver
  • Texturing Metal
  • Bending and Twisting Metal

As with any new hobby or venture it’s important to do your research and I am not too proud to ask for advice from people who would know better. The whole jewellery thing is totally foreign to me since I don’t wear it myself and have always disparaged it. I have no idea if there is likely to be any huge start-up costs for equipment to be able to branch out this way.

thejeweller.jpg
Source

So I guess the first question for the good folks here at SteemSilverGold is this – Do we have any Jewellers amongst us that we can ask for advice? Do people think this is a worthwhile thing for my wife to be learning about? Do current members agree with me that we should be welcoming all sorts of diverse interests in Silver and Gold to our group?


steemsilvergold_buggedout.png

teamaustralia_buggedout.png

Images and Credits
https://www.lukemaninov.com
https://www.opm.gov
http://throughavintagelens.com

Sort:  

Seems like a fun hobby and maybe even source of income if your wife enjoys the jewelry making. At the very least if she does well she could open an Etsy shop. Jewelry making, like pouring, is just another form of artisanship. Seems like it would be a nice addition to the ssg mix.

Thank you for the encouragement and the tip! I will check out Etsy. She is indeed good with her hands and has always been into craft in some way or another. My eldest daughter is into making things too so it could be a good hobby and if it makes a few dollars too then it's a bonus :)

There is a couple who are part of the mafia crew they have a company called beyeridgedesigns here in steemit buggedout !!

Awesome. Thanks for the great tip!

EDIT : I just realised that I am already following them but they don't post much. I'll have to get over to YouTube.

That's fantastic. I have thought of taking a class here as well, and have spoken to the instructor (happens to be a pretty blonde, but that's beside the point, lol)

Jewelry is excellent, but the crafting ends up adding to the premium. If your wife is creative, she can set up at a flea market, or even sell in local shops, and thus more income! Even if its just as a hobby, it's always great learning new skills.

Thanks mate. Yes, she was initially thinking flea markets. It's the sort of high value, small volume item that could work well through mail too though so in my view it's potentially a great home business with a global marketplace.

But yes, even if it's only a hobby it's a healthy one :)

We'll, I should have said as well... Steemit is a great market place! Maybe take cryptos for jewelry and she can set up shop right here!

Well there is that possibility too. I certainly wouldn't have a problem accepting cryptos and handling the financial side of things ;)

Well @buggedout I'm like you I don't wear any metal jewelry and I am not handy at all with these sorts of creations. So my bottomless pit of advice is about 1/8 th inch deep. So here it is: yes protect, above all else, your testicles by encouraging your dearly beloved. And secondly indeed diversifying your gold/silver community only makes it stronger, in my opinion. Blessings.

Getting some metals jewelers in here would be great! I'm on the lookout for a silver ring, so it would be nice to have some people to answer questions.

Thats cool man. Maybe you can set some stones in a bar or two for me one day

No worries. I reckon some of those skulls you have would look even more seriously bad-ass with some gemstone eyes.

It would be a great skill to learn. Adding value is always something that should be encouraged, plus it also makes that hand poured blob of metals MUCH more valuable.

No experience on this one though sorry, way too fiddly for me.

Learning is a reward in and of itself. Sharing something with the family is invaluable. Working with your hands and metal is a real advantage too. Seems to me you can't go wrong. I always thought of the jewelry first, and came into metals secondly, almost by accident. In my circles, jewelry making is the kind of thing that is either in your family or it isn't. For me, it isn't. Now in California, I've heard mention of classes you can take but I have too many reasons why I cannot take advantage. As for you though, GO FOR IT!

Thanks man. I know making jewellery is not in MY bloodline, but it could yet be an undiscovered talent for my wife. We will see and I'll be sure to post a few updates here whether we succeed or fail :)

I make paper earrings using silver findings ( stem and earring hooks) from a and e metals an australian silver recycling business. Postage is generally around $10 however you get your materials within 3 days from experience (I'm classed as regional so there are very few sites I buy from with that kind of delivery speed. Price for a pair of stirling silver earrings hooks type EH06 is $1.30 including gst. These are stamped 975 and are long enough at the back to not fall out. For earrings you can get away with long nose pliers and a side cutter pair or pliers however a pair of round nosed pliers to create a perfect round circle at the end of the stem to attach to the jump ring or directly to the earring hook would not go astray. Cost for good tools varies but expect it to set you back by at least $60.
Is your wife interested in making earrings?
20180204_085642.jpg

Im a jeweller! I mainly work in copper but a little silver. And it tends to be wire wrapping so im not sure how useful i can be to you guys but happy to try and answer questions if you need me to! Also just posted my shop up on here accepting steem or golem, hope its ok to plug on your post, it may give you an idea of what i can help with. https://steemit.com/jewelry/@robali123/jewellery-for-sale-steem-or-fiat-currencies

Hey that's very cool. I checked out your work and it's all relevant to people trying to learn like we are so very happy to have you linked up here. Cheers!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63877.55
ETH 3143.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97