Gold on TV : Gold Rush

in #steemsilvergold7 years ago

People often associate a Gold Rush with something from the past as there has been some spectacular and fascinating Gold Rush events that have happened throughout history. It’s easy to overlook the fact that after the GFC in 2008 Gold went on a massive price run and it sparked a new interest in Gold which has also coincided with this age of Streaming Media and Reality TV.

goldrushmain.jpg
Source

I don’t normally watch Reality TV (In fact I generally loathe it) but this show piqued my interest as it’s about a subject I am very curious about. Once I started watching it I was intrigued. Not only am I a Gold Bug but I also have a bit of an Engineering background so I found this show fascinating and even my wife enjoyed watching it too. That was a huge surprise!

engineering.jpg
Source

The show starts out centred around a group of 6 men from a small town in Oregon, USA who lost their jobs after the economic downturn caused the GFC and went ALL-IN on a Gold Prospecting venture in Alaska. It starts out as a real world hardship story that many of us can relate to and it’s a bit of an adventure story too as the men have no experience Gold Mining and they basically head off into the wilderness. They’re on a bit of a learning curve and they learn a lot of things the hard way, but they bring the audience with them so it’s one of those great real world stories where you learn a lot going on the journey with them and that’s where the real value of this show is.

porcupine.jpg
Source

It’s been a hugely successful show and it’s now into its 8th Season. If you’re interested in Gold and are building some kind of stack or are investing in Gold in some way then this really is “Must Watch TV”. Not just for the entertainment factor but also you will learn a lot about the Gold Mining industry and its challenges in the process so I highly recommend it.

nugget.jpg
Source

I won’t give too much away other than to say the miners have mixed fortunes all the way along. Some of the personalities are relatable, while others are seriously flawed but it’s one of those reality shows where you find yourself rooting for the battler and hoping they’ll go well. There is a little bit of manufactured and overplayed drama but if you can get past that then you won’t be disappointed and if you didn’t have bit of Gold Fever before watching it, you will after.

I’d give it an 8 out of 10. How about you?


steemsilvergold.png

TeamAust_buggedout.png

Images and Credits
http://www.radiotimes.com
https://www.pogdesign.co.uk
http://www.discovery.com
http://screenertv.com

Sort:  

Oh Yeah! I watch it every week! I've been a fan since the beginning. Sometimes I fast forward through the show just to see the cleanups.
Love seeing those piles of gold!

It's addictive isn't it. There is osmething about pulling wealth out of the ground and weighing it.

nice series

I call this show "Fixing broken shit", because it feels like that is what they are doing more often than actually finding gold. :D

very accurate! lmfao! I have tuned in a couple times and they're either arguing about broken shit, arguing about fixing shit, or occasionally going into town with some gold. I do like the science, but i'd be more interested in a doc that goes through the processes from mining to refining, with a large portion dedicated to mintages and pours.

good post B-out!

Haha, that is so true. But at least you now know how a washplant works and all the things that can go wrong with it! :)

I love watching those shows where they search for gold. It is Definetly hard to make it in that business.

Hi @buggedout , I have followed this show since it started, to watch little Parker at 16, take over his Grand Pa's mine, the late, "Grand Pa John", to the millions of dollars of gold he pulls out every year is amazing. Todd Hoffman and crew have had a crazy ride in search of gold, and Tony Beets is a old timer, "get er done" type of guy, and quite nuts too, lol. Thanks for sharing.

Grand Pa was one of my favourites. So old school and calm and a genuinely good guy. It is a pretty amazing story for Parker that is for sure.

I really enjoyed the series. I think it would be a blast to spend a summer up in Alaska searching for gold

Yes, even my wife got the bug and wanted to go on a gold hunting trip up there.

My uncle bought a piece of equipment from Dakota Fred, I think it was on season 2 or 3. After the Hoffmans had to leave the first claim " the one Dakota Fred took over" they left a big piece of equipment the Fred sold to my uncle for $10,000. We could not believe it so now we watch just to see if he is on again,

I'm not much of a Dakota Fred fan, but it is interesting that you have a real world connection to the show!

Yeah I am not either, but it was cool seing my uncle on the show buyimg somethimg from him. Lol

I love the show and have been a follower since day 1. However Todd's greedy nature annoys me, but I enjoy watching the rest of them work through the kinks. I believe episode 15 airs today so I'm looking forward to seeing how much Parker and his crew can pull out of his new cut:)

Todd can be annoying and he started grating on us after a couple of seasons. At times he seems manipulative and dishonest to me but maybe he's just being shown in a bad light.

No spoilers though! I haven't seen the latest series yet.

Yeah, I feel like he alone is destroying everything they've worked for this whole time by chasing the "ultimate payout". Only thing they deliever these days is the american drama:p I like to think that he was shown in a bad light, but it's the repetetive mistakes he does as a leader that makes me think otherwise. Enjoy the rest of it, there's some amazing stuff ahead of you too;)

Are you referring to Parker, Mr F ***** Beets with the dredge and the others ? That is huge in Netherlands al;ready for years. Same as Dr. Pol haha.

I've never seen it but I'll look for it. Is it on national tv or is it a foxtel thing?

That nugget looks sweet 👌

HI, it's on Discovery channel Friday nights.

It can be watched on Discover Channel or at Dplay:)

It's not on Netflix for some reason. You could jump in on Foxtel but it really is worth starting with Season 1 if you can find it at the video/dvd store for hire.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67312.14
ETH 2623.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69