You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Instead of STEEM DOLLARS how about STEEM GOLD?

in #steemsilvergold7 years ago (edited)

I think the true value in Steemit is in the Steem price. If the USD tanks, and takes SBD with it, and the value of Steem remains constant, then its price will go up and up and up. It will be cheaper to buy SBD (in other currencies), but not to buy Steem. In that sense I don't see the need for another currency on top of Steem, especially if it has no use outside of the Steem blockchain. Perhaps my understanding doesn't allow me to see it, but I am learning. This article definitely got me thinking about it.

Sort:  

Interesting. The main thought for me is about getting price stability and holding value. We only have to look at the last week to see how volatile the STEEM price can be.

True, but the crypto-sphere in general is very volatile. Nothing is safe from the market forces. Maybe in time things will settle when all the fear mongering subsides, and there is a greater acceptance and trust in digital currency. Introducing another token or currency now won't help with the stability, it will just be another volatile currency which gets treated like all the others.

I also think that the creation of more & more ICO's and coins is not needed. Around here, the whales already pass out "whaleshares" in the form of BitShares, which was, sort-of, the precursor to SteemIt. So, there's BitShares, Steem, SBD's, etc. already floating around here. I mean, if you REALLY want to reward somebody on SteemIt, you can already simply transfer them a Steem token or some SBD's, or give them an upvote, or a resteem, or a comment - or any combination thereof. There's already a TON of ways to reward people around here.

IMHO, people who are offering new ICO's on the SteemIt blockchain are simply trying to generate hype for their own project, which they would be at the center of, which could be very profitable for... them. So, all of this talk about "new ways to reward good content creators" seems to be a big smokescreen for a very simple character defect: GREED. I have to call it how I see it. SteemIt already works great with the transfer of tokens and SBDs - we don't need a $#!t-TON of new coins. What we really need is additional functionality built into the blockchain - things like a place to straight-up buy Steem and SBD with a credit-card, using U.S. Dollars, and not having to go through intermediate exchanges, first. Now, THAT would be a useful tool. Keep your new tokens - give me more functionality with what we've already got here.

I don't know that it is possible to build a Steem:USD feature into the blockchain.....I don't think it works like that. But building it into the frontend(storefront) of steemit, if possible, would be nice!!

Most of the rest of what u said....I agree! G R E E dddddaa D!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63813.24
ETH 2654.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76